Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A quick and delicious way to having lima beans! I followed recipe exactly as is and was extremely satisified. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I've always loved lima beans, but the way I grew up eating them was FAR from healthy. None of my cookbooks had any suggestions for me, so I came back to my trusty Allrecipes.com. Again, it hasn't let me down. This recipe is a keeper. Like some of the other reviewers, I also like to play around with some spices with this recipe. I've tried cayenne, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder so far. Yum yum! Can't wait to do some more experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good as is ... even better if you cook 3 strips of bacon, remove the bacon then saute the onions in that. Just before the beans are finished shake Tabasco Green (it's not hot just has a wonderful flavor) into the beans & mix well. Crumble the bacon on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
good but kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Wonderful. I used dry beans. I did the quick soak method to soak the beans and then I cooked them until they were soft with onion and garlic. once soft i added better than boulin and some pepper. and cooked them till they were thick enough to eat. If I cook a while bag of beans before I add the chicken stock I portion out the beans for the freezer and then cook what i want for that night with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
They were good and easy. The broth gave them some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wow! My picky husband loved these! I altered it a bit. I used 16 oz. bag and when I cooked them added a tsp. of bacon grease w/ drippings. Since I used more beans I upped the butter to 2 Tbsp., the mustard to 1 1/4 tsp. and the lemon juice to 2 Tbsp. Left the sugar alone so it wasn't so sweet - may reduce this even more in future. Also added a dash of black pepper. DEFINITELY will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have been looking for a quick and easy lima bean recipe and am thrilled to say that this is the one!!! We love onions so I used a whole medium-sized onion and in addition to the cooking spray, I used a tablespoon of olive oil to saute the onions. The 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth was plenty and I did not have to add any water. As other reviewers did, I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Absolutely out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tasty for a healthy alternative to fixing lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is something our whole family loves, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States