Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Pretty goooood. But for goodness sake...add some salt and a touch of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As they are, they're a little bland. They are, however, nothing like the mealy, unpleasant limas I remember from my childhood, so that was a pleasant surprise. I took Pomona's suggestions and added some green Tabasco and a little crumbled bacon to the finished product. Then, this was terrific - even my three year old scarfed hers down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Made this for the first time the other day and it was very tasty. I added a clove of garlic and used 1/2c of dried lima beans instead to the 1 1/2c. of chicken broth. I pressured cooked on high for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I was looking for something different and stumble across this quick and easy recipe.. Never thought to use Chicken broth in my beans and onions.. It tasted Great and my family loved it... Overall it was successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is an easy, flavorful recipe, and it works perfectly just as written. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A quick and delicious way to having lima beans! I followed recipe exactly as is and was extremely satisified. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I've always loved lima beans, but the way I grew up eating them was FAR from healthy. None of my cookbooks had any suggestions for me, so I came back to my trusty Allrecipes.com. Again, it hasn't let me down. This recipe is a keeper. Like some of the other reviewers, I also like to play around with some spices with this recipe. I've tried cayenne, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder so far. Yum yum! Can't wait to do some more experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good as is ... even better if you cook 3 strips of bacon, remove the bacon then saute the onions in that. Just before the beans are finished shake Tabasco Green (it's not hot just has a wonderful flavor) into the beans & mix well. Crumble the bacon on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
good but kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Wonderful. I used dry beans. I did the quick soak method to soak the beans and then I cooked them until they were soft with onion and garlic. once soft i added better than boulin and some pepper. and cooked them till they were thick enough to eat. If I cook a while bag of beans before I add the chicken stock I portion out the beans for the freezer and then cook what i want for that night with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States