Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
When I first found this recipe and read the reviews, I was really excited. I thought maybe I had found an easy way to make lima beans taste the way I remembered them tasting when my mom made them. After trying the recipe out, I was so disappointed. These were so BLAND. I even added some extra seasoning because of the reviews. These need a lot of seasoning!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I got mixed reviews on these. My mom loved them, but my husband didn't. I forgot to let the broth come to a boil, so my beans ended up being a little mushy. I also didn't use any spray or onion, as recommended by others here. I would make them again, but let the broth boil first and not store the leftovers in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Boy, this dish surprised me because I am not a lima bean eater (only like them in soups) but it really wasn't bad. I made them for my husband and he also liked them. They were very tender and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
i was pleasantly surprised at how tasty lima beans could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Very creamy and delicious, it was much better with the onions drained out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I really don't care for lima beans but was hoping this recipe would change my mind--it didn't. :( My kids, however, seemed to like them pretty well. They ate these just about as well as the canned. Since this is not something we all enjoy, I will probably stick with the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I am not a lima bean fan, but I liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I personally do not care for lima beans but my hubby and daughter said they were excellent and gave them a 5! They said the chicken broth added such a nice flavor to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Really good, but the little onions weren't great while eating the beans. I would suggesting keeping them in large chucks and then straining out before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a quick and tasty side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States