Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I don't care for lima beans, but my husband requested them as a side for dinner last night. I found this recipe, made it, and I am converted to a lima bean lover! I used regular lima beans (frozen) since that's what we had and I sauteed the onion in butter. I only simmered the beans for 15 minutes and they turned out so creamy on the inside and delicious. We'll be having this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These lima beans were outstanding. I did add pepper and garlic powder so a little seasoning. I usually boil mine in water, butter, and brown sugar. I thought I would try something different since I'm trying to cut out on sugars. We all loved this recipe SOOOO much! This will be the only way I make them from now on! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I didn't quite make this recipie as stated, but I am sure it would be great. I didn't add any onion, as I didn't have any on hand. But would also be great with onion. I also added 1 tbsp of butter, just for butter's sake. Next time I will make it without butter, for a lowfat dish. It did need a dash of salt and pepper for seasonigs. I will make these nice, moist, flavorful beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I am NOT a green vegetable fan, but my father in law loves limas. So when he asked for them for his birthday dinner, I came right to this site. And as usual, it didn't let me down! This recipe was wonderful-- easy and very tasty. I think I ate more than my FIL! The only deviation I made was I sauteed the onion in bacon grease and added butter before serving. No wonder I liked them! Seriously, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My son hates lima beans, but loved this recipe. I used olive oil instead of cooking spray and also added 1 clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
this was easy and simple. i used fresh baby limas and half a vidallia onion and real butter and added fresh okra as well served this with pig-butt , mac and cheese and fresh maters. very nice southern meal. thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Really good, but the little onions weren't great while eating the beans. I would suggesting keeping them in large chucks and then straining out before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
for all you lima bean lovers down south, you don't need the fattening butter to make good limas........this is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I love lima beans IF they are straight from the garden. This is an easy, delicious way to prepare them. I started the limas in the chicken broth while I cooked the onions to cut down on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This is a great way to make limas tasty. I used a lot more onion which I sauteed in a little olive oil. My husband won't touch limas with a ten foot pole so more for me. I had a bowl of leftovers for my lunch and they were just as good as the night before at supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States