Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a big hit. I kept the onions big so I could pick them out and I added butter near the end of cooking. I will definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is THE BEST lima bean recipe! I always have to double it or it will be gone in no time. I ususally saute some turkey sausage, ham, or bacon first and use the leftover drippings to saute the onion. My boyfriend won't go for em without some type of meat in there. But I think they are fabulous by themselves. Even my picky 7 year old daughter loves them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made this and it was AWESOME!!! Did not have much onion, but did have some pearl onion in the freezer. I will always cook the dish that way. Very tasty and easy dish, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great low fat alternative way to make "butter beans". However, I still love the original way more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPATTERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
this was easy and simple. i used fresh baby limas and half a vidallia onion and real butter and added fresh okra as well served this with pig-butt , mac and cheese and fresh maters. very nice southern meal. thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I give these 5 just for reminding me 1) how good limas can be and 2) sometimes the simplest preparation really is the best. Yum! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is indeedan easy recipe and very tasty. I served the beans with left over cabbage rolls and garden fresh carrots. This is a do again recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except for using canola oil rather than cooking spray. It turned out very good and as a non-lima fan, that is saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was the first year we tried growing lima beans in the garden. I love baby lima beans, but have always just cooked them from frozen, which is what this recipe called for, but I decided to try this with the fesh picked beans. Oh My Goodness. These were delicious, maybe the best I have ever had. I will definately do this again, either fresh or frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States