Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Had to use up a bag of frozen limas, thought this sounds easy, threw it together and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. When I had hubby taste for salt before serving all he said was yum :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was soooo easy and they turned out sooooo good. I added a little cornstarch and water as another poster suggested, and that added a little creamy goodness. Butter, salt, and pepper at the end and you have an easy, inexpensive, and delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Cooking ANY frozen or canned vegetable in chicken broth or beef broth makes a tremendous difference, believe me!! My neighbor across the street taught me this trick. No water, just broth. And cooked this exactly as stated (had never thought of the onions!) and was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These were just like Mom's . I added corn . Then added smoked meat for that country taste and left out the onions. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I took the onions out before eating, personal preference. Also I added a bit of salt and pepper and some crispy bacon to top it off. YUM! Bacon makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My children have been begging for Lima beans (they had tried some before and loved them!). I thought this recipe sounded great and the reviews were pretty good too. I used the recipe plus some of the suggestions from others-bacon grease, fresh minced garlic, extra salt and pepper, butter. I still found this recipe to be bland and needing A LOT more flavor. Disappointed for the first time with an all recipe. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used a bag of large lima beans (they started out white in color) and used a base of leftover onion soup instead of chicken broth. I threw them in the crockpot to cook all day, then towards the end added some leftover chopped up ham chunks I had on hand just for the sake of using them. Very nice flavor with the onion soup base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Has a subtle but distinctive flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States