Easy Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I tinkered a little. No sweetened condensed milk so I used plain condensed with about 1/3 cup of sugar added. I don't know if that was why the mixture didn't thicken in the double boiler after about 20 hot minutes (It is August!) so I added about two tbls. of corn starch mixed with a little water to make it smooth, added it to the double boiler mix and Voila! Nicely thickened. Poured it hot into the baked, but lightly baked, pie shell, topped with meringue made from the eggs, plus a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/3 cup sugar added slowly while whipping the egg whites. Baked 15 minutes at 375. Looks great. Tastes great. Oh, yes, I added the zest from my squeezed lemons cause I like that extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Gee, Nancy, thanks a lot! I tried this recipe and now my husband is hooked on your pie. It's wonderful just as it is, I wouldn't change a thing. Well okay, I did use a graham cracker crust and made meringue with the egg whites, but I didn't tinker with the main ingredients at all. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
loved it! quick and easy yet tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Me and my husband loved this recipe and ate the entire thing in one setting. I prepared it differently. I set the oven on 375 degrees. Mixed two egg yolks with the 14ounce can of Eagle sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 cup of lemon juice from freshly sqeezed lemons. I recommend tasting the mixture so it doesn't become too tart. Pour in a deep dish 9" graham cracker crust. Mix the two egg whites with 1/4 cup of sugar until they are fluffy. And smooth on the top of the mixture. Bake until the egg whites slightly brown. Place in the refrigerator overnight to give the filling time to set. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Love this recipe. It was so easy to prepare, and was stuff I already have in my pantry. Spreading whipped topping on top, easy way to finish this off. Plus, makes the pie look elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This is absolutely wonderful. Since I found this recipe, I have made it again and again. It is a never-fail Lemon Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is not only incredibly easy, but you would NEVER guess it was only 3 ingredients. Gone are the days of cornstarch, lemon zest and a stick of butter. I love this recipe! 1 pc of advice - increase the lemon juice a little if you want a less sweet taste. I use the filling for lemon tarts now, the pastry to filling ratio just seems to work better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This pie was so easy and so tasty! It was a huge hit at Christmas. I used a premade pie shell and I whipped up the egg whites for the top. I baked it for about 5 min untill the top turned a bit brown. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
We all loved this one. I doubled the recipe and put it into a 13x9 graham cracker crust. Awesome & Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I love this recipe. It's just like the one my grandmother made when I was growing up. I also like pouring it into mini graham cracker crusts so we each have individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States