Easy Lemon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
My hubby loved them! I used 1 tbsp of lemon juice and some lemon zest instead of lemon extract. They were really moist and delicious. UPDATE: I made these again and refrigerated the dough for about 24 hours before I made the cookies. The dough was easier to handle after being in the frig- not as sticky. They also came out even better than the first time I made them...a bit of crispiness on the bottom and around the sides and soft inside. The powdered sugar seemed to adhere better, too. Putting the dough in the frig was definitely a good idea. These are our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
901 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These are delicious and so simple!! My grandmother, who bakes for everyone else but rarely eats her own goodies just loves these. Let them turn just golden on the edges and they turn out great. I have also used this recipe ratio to create other kinds of cookies - basically any cake mix with 2 eggs and 1/3 c. oil and add whatever you like - chocolate tends to absorb more liquid so I add a couple tablespoons of chocolate sauce... Try the spice cake cookies at Christmas - YUM!! Much thanks to Lissa - this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I didn't have any lemon extract, so used 1 package of unsweetened lemonade flavored Kool-aid, and the flavor just POPS in your mouth!! Definitely added a nice lemony tang! Also, since powdered sugar has a lower burn point that granulated, I put the cookies on the sheets (I use parchment paper) and just dusted the tops. This is a keeper recipe...have to keep the recipe..the cookies didn't last long. Loved the crisp outside and chewy center...but don't overbake! When you think they aren't done...they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Wonderful easy recipe! For an extra lemon "bite", double the lemon extract and add 1 tsp of lemon rind. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I have used this recipe several times and it is always a hit - so, thanks Lissa. I did have to lower the oven to 350 and cooked for 11 min. You can use any flavor box mix. I did one with orange cake mix and lots of orange zest. Another one was yellow cake mix, 2 tspn Almond flavoring and tiny choc chips. The most recent one I used for a crowd of teenage kids was chocolate cake mix, 2 tspns almond flavoring and CHERRY flavored cranberries. WOW did they love these chewie cookies. I called them Chocolate cherry chewies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
My husband and I loved these. I used 1 Tbsp lemon juice in place of the lemon extract, much better flavor. If you prefer a crisper cookie push the ball down a little before baking and bake them till browned. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I thought these were just okay. The good: great texture, very chewy, and practically no effort to make. The bad: couldn't get past the "fruit loops" taste from the boxed lemon mix even after I added 2T of pure lemon juice. Maybe I'll try a white cake mix and add lots of real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOBUNNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Easy to make, yes, but they really needed more lemon flavor. I added extra lemon extract and lemon zest, and they still were just "sweet" not "tangy". I would add at least 1 1/2 tsp lemon zest and 2 tsp lemon extract! Chill to make the dough less sticky before scooping into balls. On a side note, if you add 1-2 cups of rice krispies to the dough, it adds a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very easy and versatile, too. My husband did a cookie exchange at his workplace (guess who made the cookies). I made lemon, strawberry (used strawberry extract instead of lemon) and carrot cake (used 1/8 tsp of ground ginger and a tsp of vanilla). Oh, and I did cook mine for 10 minutes. I guess ovens are different. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Can I rate it higher??? These disappear from our kitchen as fast as they are made. Took them to work last week and everyone praised and asked for recipe. Luv 'em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States