Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
MY GRANDMOTHER WAS THE KIND OF WOMAN WHO MADE EVRYTHING FROM SCRATCH, NO REALLY, EVERYTHING. SHE KEPT AN ORANGE OR LEMON POUND CAKE MADE ALL THE TIME. AFTER SHE GOT SICK, I STARTED TRYING TO FIND HER RECIPE TO NO AVAIL AND THEN FOUND OUT NO ONE HAD EVER SEEN HER MIX ONE UP TO REMEMBER THE INGREDIENTS. AFTER HER DEATH WE FINALLY FOUND HER RECIPE AND THIS WAS IT, HER DEEP DARK SECRET THAT STARTED WITH A MIX. YOU CAN USE STRAWBERRY OR ORANGE ALSO AND ITS GREAT WITHOUT THE GLAZE AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
absolutely my favorite! I used lemon cake and didn't add lemon extract and I made extra frosting..turned out wonderful..will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The first time i made this cake i use the lemon gelatin it was great.the second time i use the lemon pudding perfect this cake was the bomb i love it iwill be making this again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Moist? No. Greasy? Yes. Easy recipe, and I can see how many people would love it, but it is not one I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Yummy and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe was really good, but I did get lazy and just used lemon frosting, instead of making the glaze. Still a really good cake. Will make it again and make the glaze the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My 9 year old threw this together this weekend and took it to a party. It was wonderful! Easy to make, tasted great and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
excellent flavor. The frosting was a little to runny. It ran off the cake and onto the counter. But once it dried it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this recipe with lemon cake mix, and didn't add any lemon extract. It turned out moist and delicious. My husband loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Hate to say this but I didn't care for this cake. I loved the glaze though. So sad, I was totally jazzed up but then disappointed. There is another lemon cake recipe from this site I wanted to try but I didn't have any apricot nectar on hand so I chose this one. At least other reviewers are enjoying this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States