Easy Lemon Cake Cookies with Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good recipe but unless you oven tends to run hot, baking time is more like 12-15 minutes to get them done. Chill dough for several hours in the refrig and then roll in powder sugar. Easier to handle and the dough is still sticky enough for the powder sugar to coat. If making for the first time, make one smaller cookie on each cookie sheet and use that to tell when they are done. The smaller cookie will start to brown faster than the ones that are larger!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good but next time I would not use Lemon extract in the icing. It gives it a funny aftertaste. Regardless, my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Didn't love these... it was difficult to judge baking time and the flavor was ok if you had a decent cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
BUT, I tweaked it. I used french vanilla cake mix. and for the icing I used lemon juice and zest, rather than milk and artificial lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are so simple and so delightful! At first I thought that the mix was too dry but I just kept mixing, and then it needed about 9 minutes to cook and 2 more minutes on the pan. I made a glaze because I love sweetness, but I didn't measure I just kept mixing milk, extract and adding more sugar until I liked the taste and consistency. I will have to store these before I eat too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great cookies. The icing was a bit tart. Next time, no lemon juice in the icing ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
i am not a lemon fan @ all but after how quick and easy these were, how can i not convert i used the sugar cookie Glaze and mabelized them with differnt colors, Hubby loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlene253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were okay. I was hoping they would be similar to Maggiano's lemon cookies but the middles were chewy/doughy after even 10 minutes of baking. Perhaps you need to press them down flat before baking instead of "dropping by rounded teaspoons"???? I also had to double the milk in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These were great! very light and airy. I will add that putting the cookies on foil- covered sheet pan did not exactly work, I just lightly sprayed a cookie sheet with cooking spray and baked exactly 10 minutes- 8 minutes and the cookies were still gooey and falling apart. To me, lemon extract is a little pungent and over the top, so for the glaze i just used vanilla in place of the lemon extract. Excellent! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were so easy to make! I loved that it took so little time! They were really tasty too! I added some extra lemon juice to the mix, and then squeezed the lemon juice over the cookies before I baked them since my husband really like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States