Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong but when I combined the cake mix with the egg and oil, it became a paste instead of being crumbly. I followed the directions carefully. Not sure if the brand of cake mix makes a difference. The taste was fine for the base and filling but the consistency was just not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were REALLY good. I increased the filling ingredients by 50% as suggested... they are definitely not like traditional lemon bars but they are much easier to make and taste lovely. These will be made again, I'm sure! (I used Betty Crocker Super Moist Lemon Cake mix... no pudding, but that didn't seem to matter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These are easy and fast to make. The Cream Cheese makes them pretty rich. They are not like the traditional Lemon Bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I thought these bars were really good. I made them for mothers day and was not disappointed. I did double the cream cheese mixture and added 1/2 tsp more of lemon juice to the cream cheese. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This receipe had a really good taste, but since I love cream cheeese I'm going to double it next time. All in all this was a quick and easy recipe and I will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
They were ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
What's wrong with me? I made this just as the recipe states-- but there was too much bottom crust and not enough filling or topping so the crust on the edge curled. I would try this again but I would reserve more of the cake mixture for topping and press the bottom crust a little thinner and I would double the filling. It could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyumm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were soooo good, and didn't taste like cake at all like others had stated. They had a really good lemony taste, and the cream cheese layer made them just delicious. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
So easy and so yummy! I was skeptical of how this would turn out but it was great for a casual mother's day dessert. I used Lemon Supreme cake mix with a box of instant vanilla pudding mixed in and I used 1.5 packages of cream cheese with half a juicy lemon, a bit more sugar than asked for and a tsp of pure vanilla. Will definitely make again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I think the brand of cake mix you use probably makes a difference. I altered slightly: for the filling I added 1 cup of whipping cream and an egg. Whipped it all together with the cream cheese and powdered sugar (didn't have any other) and it was fluffier. I baked it and it tasted good, but I think next time I'll leave off the top layer and freeze the bars instead. I think this could be interesting to try with chocolate cake mix or a cookie crust, and mint added to the filling in place of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States