Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
very good, so rich and creamy, I tried some suggestions others had made, I mixed cake mix and added the pudding mix, I doubled the filling and used about 5tbsp of lemon juice in total and about 1tsp of zest, and some yellow food colouing to the filling. I made this and another lemon bar recipe from this site (Lemon Coconut Squares) at the same time to see which everyone prefered and this got the most votes with everyone also commenting on how great the crust was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by december82

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've been making these lemon bars for years, I believe this recipe was originally from Duncan Hines. I remember my mom copying it from Good Housekeeping magazine many years ago. :) I always thought the bars were delicious and easy to prepare but a little too thin. To remedy the problem, I started making a double batch and using a small browie pan for the "second" pan. Doing this gives you enough to make the whole bath a little thicker. I also agree with others that add some extra lemon juice or lemon zest...gives a more lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Super easy- a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
LOVE these! My mom used to make these back in the 80's and she had gotten the recipe from a magazine I think. I am so glad I found this recipe on here! I like to add the lemon zest and juice from one lemon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was great as is. I didn't change a thing. I was craving something lemony sweet and this was perfect. It hit the spot and the kids liked it too! It was really easy to make. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCA944

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These were terrible! All I could taste was the fake lemon almost chemical taste from the lemon cake mix. Even my kids wouldn't eat these and I ended up throwing out the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Excellent lemon bars, both tart and sweet, and my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Took these along on a campout and they were a big hit. Followed recipe exactly and I would definitely make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
The cake crust bottom was thick and hard as a rock - like a few day old lemon cook left out on a dish. I doubled the cream cheese filling and it still spread so thin like a light frosting - quadrupling the batch would have equaled a "FILLING" and perhaps would have kept the crust moist - ? How she got away with just one batch of filling is a wonder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
EASY Breezy! Yummy for your tummy! I made these for my Christmas gifts and everyone raved about the recipe! A keeper for sure. The easiest Lemon Bars I have ever made! Thanks Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States