Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was actually so disappointing. I'm always skeptical about using boxed cake mixes and this recipe just confirms that scepticism. It tasted so fake and processed, and you could barely even taste the lemon despite me increasing the amount of lemon in there. Would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerri
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
EXCELLENT! I did as others suggested, doubled the filling, but I ALSO doubled the cake mix part. I used 2 lemon cake mixes with pudding in the mix (Betty Crocker), ADDED 1 small box of instant lemon pudding, 2 eggs & 1 C. oil and 1 Tbl Lemon Extract (1/2 mixture into 9 x 13, 1/2 mixture for top). Then for the FILLING, I used 3 pkgs, 2/3 C. sugar, 1/4 C. lemon juice, yellow coloring AND 3 EGGS (so it would firm while cooking). Baked about 30 mins until topping browned and middle firmed... EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Brought these to work and my coworkers loved them, so did my boyfriend. The only note I would make is that 15 min in the oven might be a little too much (at least for my oven) on the second part of the baking process. Bottom got a little burnt, so watch that time. Otherwise, Awesome! I'll be making more this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So delicious! I added a box of sugar-free instant lemon pudding to the crust along with a teaspoon of lemon extract. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup in the filling and used the juice of one large lemon because I like my lemon bars tart. I agree with some other reviews and suggest doubling the filling. I made my bars in an 11 x 7 in. pan and everything came out perfect. I will be making these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forensicsnut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Yum! Some lemon bars are so sweet, but these are just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Bronson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Double cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Made changes as suggested by others and these were AWESOME!! This is one of those things that tastes and looks so good you will find it hard to believe you made it yourself. Notes for next time: Used 12 oz cream cheese and a bit less than 1/2 cup sugar. Used the zest from one lemon and 1/4 c. lemon juice (from 1 1/2 lemons), put 1/3 of the zest and a Tablespoon of juice in with the cake mix and the rest of the zest and juice in the cream cheese filling. Cooked as directed but with the extra liquid it needed about 25 minutes for the second stay in the oven instead of 15. Dusted with powdered sugar once it was cool. Soooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe, easy and I too got loads of compliments. Changes I made... I doubled the filling as suggested Used golden cake mix and small package of lemon putting mix. Juiced lemons, half a lemon in the crust and 1 1/2 in the filling. Zested the lemon rind and put zest from half a lemon in the crust and zest from 1 1/2 lemons in the filling. I added lemon extract to the filling and some yellow food coloring for presentation. I found when baking, after 20 minutes the top crust was not toasting, so I put the oven on broil for just a minute and it came out perfect. Sprinkled with icing sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A big hit and truly easy! I made 1.5 times the filling and used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. These were even better the next day, they need time to sit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Make these for a bake sale to try them out. I love lemon so I too added 5 tbsp of lemon juice instead of the 1 tbsp. Very quick bars to throw together at the last minute! Great bars and had people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States