Easy Lemon and Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe! So simple, but the flavors really pop! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I tried this tonight as a side to my tenderloin. It was tasty! It's best straight from the pan to the plate to your mouth, so make it your last item removed from the stove. I gave it 5 stars because overall the recipe title says it all- it's easy to prepare, lemony, and garlicy. Edited: after making this recipe multiple times (we LOVE broccoli!), I now steam my broccoli in a steamer basket instead of cooking it in a pan. (I didn't like that the broccoli turned brown). I pour my lemon juice over the broccoli and leave it to steam. When finished, I place the steamed broccoli in a glass pyrex bowl and squeeze 1/2 fresh lemon over it, pour the melted butter & slightly browned garlic directly in the bowl, cover, shake and serve. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Amazing! I followed the directions exactly (which I rarely do!) and it was perfect. I don't think I've ever eaten so much broccoli in my life. I would definitely encourage everyone who is making this to use only fresh ingredients. I can't imagine it'd be the same without fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I broke my broccoli into smaller florets, mine were done in just under ten minutes. I used homemade roasted garlic in this recipe. To make the roasted garlic easier to use, I just smushed it with the back of a spoon into a paste, then mashed it into the butter before adding the butter to the skillet, then the broccoli (I skipped the browned garlic step). I did add just a touch of crushed red pepper when I added the fresh ground black pepper. This was delicious. My one issue with this recipe is there wasn't enough for bigger servings, we all wanted more. Next time, I'd double the recipe in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe! This so easy to prepare and yet so good. The lemon and garlic paired together really make this broccoli side dish stand out. It's delicious all by itself and makes a great side dish. Before serving I topped it with a little lemon zest. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Really good!! BRIGHT GREEN broccoli has antioxidants in the green color at their peak, and 10-15 minutes is too long. I cooked it for about 4 minutes, cut in smaller pieces so the stems were tender crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I am giving this a 5 for flavor. It was very tasty! I was trying to copy the broccoli, served on the plates at restaurants. This came pretty close. The only thing I changed was cutting the black pepper in half. I also only needed to cook the butter garlic sauce for 4 minutes and the garlic was golden browned. I weighed the 1 lb of broccoli out and it came to 7 3/4 cup of fresh brocoli florets. I put them in a pan with 3" sides to steam. I felt the steaming method, with so little water, was literally dry steaming. For that reason, the larger pieces stay a bright green, but the smaller ones get a little browned. I might tinker with that a bit next time. I would also like to see if a lighter sat fat version of butter will work, like butter with olive oil or canola oil blend. As is, though, I ate 2 servings and had to stop myself! As it cooks down a little, this will only yield about 2 good sized servings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Tasty and easy. My 11 yr old gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is sooooooo gooooood. I threw some nuts (hazel and pecan) in for extra flavour, as I used this for a mine course, but honestly, I thought that the nuts dragged it down and that it would have been tastier without them. Definitely the way I will be doing broccoli as a side dish in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
So good, juicy, and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States