Easy Layer Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
They're just too good, and SO easy! The best way to spread the sweetened condensed milk is to cut a one-inch slit in the can with a can opener at "12 o'clock" and a two-inch one at "6 o'clock" and drizzle it on slowly. If you open the can, you're going to get a big clump in the middle of your cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumblebee_05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I made these squares for my husband. They were so easy and I had everything already on hand. Needless to say... he loved them, so did I! I cut back on the condensed milk. In my local grocery stores I can only find 10oz cans, so that is what I used. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
These are so delicious, exactly what I was looking for! I slightly burned the first batch at 30-35 minutes, so you may want to check in at 25 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
this was a simple solution to a sweet tooth that wouldn't be satisfied. Not only did it provide the perfect sweet, I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and low fat grahams, and light butter to cut back on alot of fat and calories and believe me the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I sampled something similar years ago, with a friend who said the secret on these was "not to over-do the choco chips"! So, I use only 6 oz of choco chips and a full cup of butterscotch chips - this amount is perfect! Replace the walnuts with those skin-on sliced almonds and don't pack your coconut. A thicker graham crust balances the sweetness perfectly. I like to add the melted butter to a bowl first to mix up and then spread on bottom of the pan. Cook on bottom rack - edges will look overdone but those are nice to trim off and sample! Kids love them frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Pretty good. Quite sweet and tastes a bit like old fashioned, fifties-type food. Don't think I'll make it again, but they weren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Every Friday my husband takes a home made treat to his office to share with co- workers, this is the first time others have asked for the recipe, the boss even said that this is the best one yet!! I cut them pretty small kinda bite size. I also doubled the butter and graham cracker crumbs. Such an easy bake no mixing required!! I had slivered almonds on hand instead of walnuts. Turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I've done basically the same recipe for years and everybody begs for more. The only difference is I use pecans instead of walnuts, and I use a 7x11 pan and bake them at 375 for 40 minutes so the sweetened condensed milk carmelized on top. They look overdone, but they're definitely not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is similar to the recipe I usually use to make what I call "Decadent Indulgence" bars, only I use 1 cup of each type of 'chip', and I finely crush my crumbs into almost a powder; It helps it stick together better. Also, when you cut these into squares, make sure you cut them into small squares (1"x1" is plenty). Anything more than that is too much and will leave you feeling sick. I get requests for these ALL THE TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States