Easy Kielbasa Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I actually modified this recipe a decent amount and it was really good! Honestly, I haven't made it exactly the way the poster had done it, but I'm sure it's good that way too. Some of the changes were for convenience, some to get flavor (a little kick). Here are the changes is: -Used turkey kielbasa and cooked for much longer than 5 min (probably like 15 - it took a long time to get nice and brown) -Used two potatoes instead of three (1 sweet; 1 regular) -pinch of paprika -~1.4 teaspoons of crushed red pepper -2 cloves garlic -Added frozen broccoli florets and frozen bag mix (with green beans, corn, and carrots) -After browning the kielbasa, I added all the vegetables. Put in a cup of water, placed on lid, and turn stove down to a simmer for 30ish min. This allowed the potatoes to thoroughly cook. Next time, I think I'll only use one potato and add more of the healthy veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Easy, smelled great, very tasty. I added garlic and used yellow potatoes with skin. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Delicious; Added whatever veggies I had in fridge and also added about 1/2-3/4 cup of chicken stock to help steam the potatoes and carrots and provide some moisture and sauciness. I added salt but, no salt is needed if you season your base of onions and with the saltiness of the kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My whole family loves this recipe!!! I have made it several times!! Delicious and easy meal to eat anytime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This tasted fine, but for me pre-cooked meats can just be a little salty. I found this recipe looking for one to use up a pack of Johnsonville swiss bratwurst. After cooking it there was so much oil I had to drain the meat and pan dripping well on thick layers of paper towel. To save time I used a bag of broccoli and cauliflower mixed and a bag of cubed potatoes that came with onions already. When done I added a little garlic powder and Adobo seasoning. This reminds me more of the breakfast hash recipes they sold on the college campuses for late night breakfast, with potatoes, onions, meat, and whatever leftover veggies they had. It was quick and filling, though, ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My kids love this one. If I cut the veggies at nap time, then I can just throw it in the skillet and still play with the kids while it cooks. I use sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes. Sometimes I'll throw in a red bell pepper. I want to post a picture it's so colorful and pretty. But my kids seem to eat it before I get a chance. No leftovers for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Easy Kielbasa Skillet Dinner Haiku: "So easy to make! Added a minced garlic clove. (And swapped potatoes.)" The submitter of the recipe made one suggestion that totally jives w/ our taste - heavily-crisping the kielbasa first. Luna also mentioned replacing veggies, so instead of potatoes, I used a large bag of frozen broccoli/cauliflower for a low-carb alternative. The kielbasa is what MAKES this dish flavorful, so I would definitely not use a turkey/chicken or low-fat alternative unless planning on drastically increasing seasoning, which would defeat the purpose of this stupid-easy, excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was easy but just ok... I made with yellow squash, garlic and old bay seasoning and my 3 year old ate it. Very heavy, so next time might add some broth, mash the potatoes a bit and make a soup. Or skip potatoes altogether...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessmich
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very tasty! Just added a few things like sliced bell peppers carrots and minced garlic..I also parboil potatoes and carrots before adding to make sure they are completely cooked .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great meal. Added liberal amounts of Penzey's Mural of Flavor( shallots, onion, garlic, chives, spices, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States