Easy Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Used the advice of Shrae1 and the tip shared by them as well - didn't have key limes, so used a half cup of juice of 5 lemons and a half cup of juice from 6 limes (wonderful hint). Added that to the 4 egg yolks and blended well before incorporating 2 cans of Eagle Brand condensed milk. Had made a no-bake graham cracker crust found on this site, using a handful of butter cookies as part of the crumbs. My crust was made in my deep dish pie pan, so even with the extra can of condensed milk and double juice, it fit nicely. Cooked at a preheated 375 for 30 minutes and it came out exactly as we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
The easiest and best tasting pie I ever made. I am a novice when it comes to pies. I used as directed 1/2 cup of lime juice, 5 yolks & 1 can of sweetened condensed milk. I used a food processor to mix ingredients throughly and it helped with making the filling very light in consistence (if I had s hand mixer I would have used that).. I used fresh squeezed key lime juice. I did add a touch of finely graded key lime rind to the filling. I baked the pie about 6 minutes longer until I saw the filling rise and firm up a bit. I followed the advice of another reviewer but putting the pie the the freezer for 30 minutes the the fridge from 30 minutes but I cooled it for about 15 minutes before putting it the freezer. I had great reviews and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I'm not a novice cook,but something definitely went wrong with this pie. I followed the recipe exactly, but when I took it out of the oven it was runny. I thought it would thicken after it cooled so put it in the refrigerator, but it didn't (I was actually making 6 pies and all were like this.) I didn't want to throw out 6 pies so put them back into the oven until thickened which was about 30 minutes. They tasted good but didn't look good. I used more whipped cream and garnish to hide the defects. I served 30 people and most every one liked them, didn't know they were supposed to be key lime pies. When asked what it was I said, "It is uh-oh pie, which I think is am accurate description. Does anyone have an idea as to what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Bitter and not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
For some reason, I was too intimidated to make a key lime pie before. All the recipes I looked at before were too complicated and time consuming. I found this recipe to be so simple to follow, resulting in a delicious dessert. Key lime is my favorite pie and homemade tastes way better than store bought. In a week, I made three of these pies! Friends were begging me for the recipe. Thanks, allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Being from Cayo Hueso,I can verify that this is the real thing!! However, if you need to spread it around a little farther, add a 8 oz softened pkg of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
very simple; and very refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it is delicious! Yes, it's tart, but it's a pie made with lime juice. Don't change a thing! It does not taste eggy, it is not runny, and it doesn't have to sit overnight to firm up. In fact, mine was firm to touch as soon as I took it out of the oven. I cooled it in the freezer for 30 minutes, in the fridge for 30 minutes and served it. Even my picky teenage boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
It was so yummy!I loved it! Once again all recipes saved the day! Being in New Hampisure the key limes weren't as good as they are in florida but, in the end it turned out as wonderful as I hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I am a big key lime lover! I've had so many variations and this one hits the spot! It's creamy and just the right amount of lime flavor ( I used half lime and lemon juice). Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,008) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States