Easy Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
mmmm so good. I did add a bit of my own touch to this. I added 4 cloves of garlic with the peppers while they boiled. I also left all the seeds in while boiling. Then I added a handful of cilantro as well as the juice from 1 lime. It turned out very spicy and extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This stuff is pretty good! Smooth and delicious! Not too hot, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great salsa! This is a little chunkier than the Jalapeno Hot Sauce on this site because of the raw jalapeno thrown in the blender, but I like it just as much. It's more like the green salsa that is sold in the little mexican markets but without the tomatillos. I only seeded half the jalapenos because we like ours pretty spicy. It's a great mix-in for guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I was so suprised how good this was. I tuned it down a bit by only adding half of the fresh pepper, it was enough kick to enjoy! Be careful when cutting the Jalapenos, you can smell the heat. So good, it's a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
The minute I read this recipe, I knew it would be one FIERY HOT sauce so I made a few adjustments. I used only one small jalapeno pepper for the entire recipe and added one clove of garlic along with 2 tbsp each of canola and reserved water, but the sauce was too HOT! I continued to add 2 tbsp each of canola oil and boiled water to the blender until I reached a level that was comfortable for my family (about 8 tbsp each). Finally, I seasoned the sauce with a pinch of salt. The flavor was absolutely delicious!! I've made this several times and used it as a sauce for chile rellenos, quesadillas, tortilla chips, chicken enchiladas...the list goes on. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
If you are looking for a mild hot sauce this is great! Very tasty, big hit! Next year I will try with hotter peppers for other members of the family who thought this was too mild (I don't eat hot stuff too much so I thought it was quite spicy ;)This recipe was indeed easy,I am very much a novice at cooking anything and am learning a lot by mistakes very quickly ;) I think this recipe should come with a warning for people like me who don't know anything about cooking: When you boil those peppers open the windows turn the fan on and stand away from the stove (I choked everyone out of the kitchen with the capsacin-loaded steam that came from the pot), Also--I do know you should wear gloves when working with hot peppers but I threw caution to the wind in that respect--I thought I had washed it all off (washed many many times) but I ended up burning my eyes when I got up in the morning! and my fingertips started burning again each timeI washed my hands. Rub aloe vera on fingers thoroughly then wash off the goopy stuff, repeat if necessary (it took two times for me but then the burning was completely gone)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I'd originally given this 4 stars, but I need to make it 2. Waaaay too much work! We love Mexican food, but, for the life of me, I couldn't figure out what to do with this once it was made. We added 2t to a big pot of chili, but the remainder got moldy in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Easy Jalapeno Hot Sauce. We are all addicted to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States