Easy Italian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I bought some chicken legs on sale and was looking for a way to use them when I stumbled across this recipe. These were yummy! I made some minor changes - put s&p on the chicken before browning, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, minced jarred garlic (with a bunch of the liquid) rather than fresh, and chicken broth instead of water. The cooking times and instructions were right on - the chicken was thoroughly cooked but still moist. They had a great, brown sticky coating on them that had just a little zing due to the red pepper flakes. My 3-year old daughter usually doesn't eat much meat at dinner - but she ate three of the drumsticks and wanted more! (Unfortunately they were gone!) I'll definitely make this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Quick, easy and tasty. All a good recipe should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Yummy! Served this with potato pancakes. The blandness of the pancakes is a good offset to the spicy chicken. I used legs only since I don't like thighs and used jarred minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Very good and tasty. I made it with some modifications. Rubbed the chicken with lemon pepper (as recommended by 1 reviewer) and italian seasoning. I also added a squirt of lemon to the water for simmering. Wonderfully delicious chicken. Will definitely cook this again. Thanks Lottie =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
My family and I thought this chicken was great. I had to alter the seasoning according to what I had. I only had one clove of garlic, so I used that along with a generous amount of salt-free garlic & herb seasoning. I used Goya brand Adobo instead of salt, and cut the red pepper flakes down to 1 and 1/2 teaspoons. I also added some Italian seasoning. It came out juicy, with a wonderful flavor. I think the thing that makes this chicken so good is the method of cooking it, not necessarily the seasoning. It would be great seasoned with anything your family likes. I will definitely use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was soo gooooooood. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My husband loved this, mind you, so did my 8 year old little girl! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is a keeper!!! My husband loved it!!! As soon as I saw garlic and red pepper flakes as the main ingredients, I thought I'd try it since my husband LOVES garlic and red pepper flakes. I didn't eat it because I was eating leftover "Spicy Spud Soup" (which I got from this site a while back and it has become a family favorite). I'm not a big fan of chicken drumsticks, so the next time I make this for my husband, I'll use chicken thighs or breast for me. My husband told me to KEEP this one!!! Thanks for the recipe. It was so easy to make and used things that are "staples" in my house (a big plus).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I did use lemon pepper on the chicken before I browned it like other members had suggested, a great recommendation! I also added white wine while simmering, delish! I served it with chicken flavoured rice, and poured the "sauce" over it, Yummy! It does turn out quite spicy as a warning, if you're not into spicy food. My husband and I loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very yummy - I omit the red pepper and add sliced onions with the garlic. It's delicious, even my very picky husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States