Easy Italian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I did use lemon pepper on the chicken before I browned it like other members had suggested, a great recommendation! I also added white wine while simmering, delish! I served it with chicken flavoured rice, and poured the "sauce" over it, Yummy! It does turn out quite spicy as a warning, if you're not into spicy food. My husband and I loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I bought some chicken legs on sale and was looking for a way to use them when I stumbled across this recipe. These were yummy! I made some minor changes - put s&p on the chicken before browning, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, minced jarred garlic (with a bunch of the liquid) rather than fresh, and chicken broth instead of water. The cooking times and instructions were right on - the chicken was thoroughly cooked but still moist. They had a great, brown sticky coating on them that had just a little zing due to the red pepper flakes. My 3-year old daughter usually doesn't eat much meat at dinner - but she ate three of the drumsticks and wanted more! (Unfortunately they were gone!) I'll definitely make this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good chicken. I like recipes that are this good and require ingredients that are always in my pantry. I did substitute the water with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is a keeper!!! My husband loved it!!! As soon as I saw garlic and red pepper flakes as the main ingredients, I thought I'd try it since my husband LOVES garlic and red pepper flakes. I didn't eat it because I was eating leftover "Spicy Spud Soup" (which I got from this site a while back and it has become a family favorite). I'm not a big fan of chicken drumsticks, so the next time I make this for my husband, I'll use chicken thighs or breast for me. My husband told me to KEEP this one!!! Thanks for the recipe. It was so easy to make and used things that are "staples" in my house (a big plus).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My husband loved this, mind you, so did my 8 year old little girl! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Not so sure this is "Italian" chicken. It was quite spicy, not necessarily what I would categorize as Italian. I think the garlic and salt should be added prior to cooking, under the skin perse. Then it should go into the oven. Much better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This chicken was not as flavorful as I expected. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a disappointment. Maybe it was just too much garlic for me and not enough other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This chicken was good but not great. I thought it was a little bland and the frying was a bit messy. My husband seemed to enjoy it and he's a picky eater so I guess I'll try it again with a few spices. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wharton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Really quite good. I used chicken drumsticks and substituted chili flakes for the red pepper powder for added punch. Though I could not wait for the water to evaporate completely, the chicken still had a good flavor. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This recipe was surprisingly good. I wasn't expecting much from looking at the ingredient list, but I was desperate for a chicken recipe that I could make from the pantry. The chicken was juicy and had a good garlic flavor. I didn't have red pepper flakes so I thought I would substitute crushed chili. Probably a mistake since the chicken ended up super spicy! But still, I think this recipe has potential. I might try it again and experiment a little with the ingredients. Just be sure to watch the cooking time. When I started, I didn't realize how long it would take to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Perfect for Taco Tuesdays or any day of the week.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States