Easy Irish Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ritsuko
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is pretty amazing. After living in London for half a year, this really brought my memories back full force. As with most UK food, it needed a lot of salt and pepper, but tasted great on it's own, and with some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
this is awesome! I used BBQ sauce instead of bacon so its vegetarian. tastes phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tastes very good, easy to make, and it also reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I doubled this recipe and I still had to keep my family from eating the whole thing and not leaving any for the next day's lunch. This is the real stuff, very rich and tasty. I used a hand mixer (rather than a fork) because of the quantity and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was wonderful! All three of my children LOVED it, including the baby! I did add the bacon AND colby cheese for a little extra flavor, but it definitely didn't need flavor. I will make this our new favorite cabbage recipe and will also make it every St. Patty's day week. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was told no Corned Beef on St. Patrick's Day but the Irish in me wanted to do something festive. I found this recipe and it was delicious! I only made half of the recommended serving amount and prepared it as a side dish. I did not use half-and-half but just added a little bit of milk at the end as well as a spoon full of sour cream. I also added crumbled bacon. It was perfect and a HUGE hit with my picky family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Made this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party and the family loved it! The only change I made was adding one clove of garlic to the mash. :-) Good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I added fresh garlic and chives and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Yum! The addition of cabbage to regular mashed potatoes made for an extra hearty, buttery flavor. I made some minor subs based on what I had on hand - shallots instead of green onions, and 1% milk instead of half-and-half, but it was still great. Perfect for a snowy winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow. Good colcannon! The half-half makes it ultra creamy! I made a few adjustments for my subsequent meals. Chicken broth and 1 TB of butter instead of cream and 1/4 cup butter. I am trying to watch the hips, and it still tastes as good! I dash some nutmeg on it to, which is a great flavor with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States