Easy Irish Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I doubled this recipe and I still had to keep my family from eating the whole thing and not leaving any for the next day's lunch. This is the real stuff, very rich and tasty. I used a hand mixer (rather than a fork) because of the quantity and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was wonderful! All three of my children LOVED it, including the baby! I did add the bacon AND colby cheese for a little extra flavor, but it definitely didn't need flavor. I will make this our new favorite cabbage recipe and will also make it every St. Patty's day week. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinsongirl79
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very simple and tasty! Will definitely try again. I added 1 clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was told no Corned Beef on St. Patrick's Day but the Irish in me wanted to do something festive. I found this recipe and it was delicious! I only made half of the recommended serving amount and prepared it as a side dish. I did not use half-and-half but just added a little bit of milk at the end as well as a spoon full of sour cream. I also added crumbled bacon. It was perfect and a HUGE hit with my picky family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritsuko
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is pretty amazing. After living in London for half a year, this really brought my memories back full force. As with most UK food, it needed a lot of salt and pepper, but tasted great on it's own, and with some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It was supper easy and actually very delicious! My daughter who hates cooked cabbage ate her entire serving - Miracles do happen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I just made this last night and found it super easy and really good! The textures together are really good! It did require a lot of salt but I didn't add bacon or cheese, just made it exact to what the recipe called for! It's a great and easy twist to boring mash potatoes. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Made this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party and the family loved it! The only change I made was adding one clove of garlic to the mash. :-) Good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
this is awesome! I used BBQ sauce instead of bacon so its vegetarian. tastes phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tastes very good, easy to make, and it also reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States