Easy Irish Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Yum! The addition of cabbage to regular mashed potatoes made for an extra hearty, buttery flavor. I made some minor subs based on what I had on hand - shallots instead of green onions, and 1% milk instead of half-and-half, but it was still great. Perfect for a snowy winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good recipe, we save half the raw onions and add them after cooking the way my Nana did to give it a little more bite, and my kids like it with beef gravy on the side. My mum used to call this Irish welfare food, it's what they ate when there was no money for meat...real traditional St Pats food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debaser
Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I added fresh garlic and chives and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tastes very good, easy to make, and it also reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
this is awesome! I used BBQ sauce instead of bacon so its vegetarian. tastes phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Made this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party and the family loved it! The only change I made was adding one clove of garlic to the mash. :-) Good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I just made this last night and found it super easy and really good! The textures together are really good! It did require a lot of salt but I didn't add bacon or cheese, just made it exact to what the recipe called for! It's a great and easy twist to boring mash potatoes. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It was supper easy and actually very delicious! My daughter who hates cooked cabbage ate her entire serving - Miracles do happen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritsuko
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is pretty amazing. After living in London for half a year, this really brought my memories back full force. As with most UK food, it needed a lot of salt and pepper, but tasted great on it's own, and with some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was told no Corned Beef on St. Patrick's Day but the Irish in me wanted to do something festive. I found this recipe and it was delicious! I only made half of the recommended serving amount and prepared it as a side dish. I did not use half-and-half but just added a little bit of milk at the end as well as a spoon full of sour cream. I also added crumbled bacon. It was perfect and a HUGE hit with my picky family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States