Easy Irish Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for! I am by no means an expert in the kitchen, and I managed this without any frustration or blunders. As noted by the author, traditional Irish food is VERY bland, so use this as a base and then add whatever flavors you like to punch it up a bit. I added some reduced-fat shredded cheese and a little garlic. I also only had chives so I added those directly to the potato/cabbage mix at the end instead of boiling. Then I layered it in a baking dish over frozen corn and topped with sauteed mushrooms and baked at 375. After about 20 minutes I put slices of Gouda cheese over the mushrooms and baked 10 more minutes. It turned out even better than I had hoped! I served it with turkey meatloaf and my husband and 6 year old daughter both raved over it and cleaned their plates. Thank you for this recipe that I will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I doubled the potatoes and onions for the recipe, added about 3/4 of a diced rutabaga that I had and one small bag of shredded coleslaw mix I had. After cooking and hand mashing I added 1/4 cup of butter, ~1/4 cup fat free half, celtic sea salt to taste, 6 strips of cooked turkey bacon and ~1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I'm glad I doubled the potatoes or we wouldn't have any leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
It was okay, but the cabbage flavor sort of disappeared in the potatoes, yet the potatoes "weren't quite right" either. It did make great potato patties though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Kind of bland but then Colcannon is that way. It's meant as a neutral side to a meat entree. That said, I don't like cheese or bacon mixed into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I increased the milk/butter just a touch and I threw in a half pound of crumbled crisp bacon. Comfort food at it's best. I made Guinness Corned Beef to go with it. Excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Tasty. Looking forward to St. Patty's day when I will make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used cabbage from some left over corn beef and cabbage my dad had made (I think it really gave it a lot of flavor). Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just made this and it came out delish. I didn't peel the potatoes. I used a stick of butter and half a cup of whole milk. I also threw in a few chicken bouillon cubes to add some flavor. The hubs loved it, and it was a nice change for St. Patty's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Caulcannon was a regular dish in my house when I was growing up in Canada, but my Irish mother also added other root vegetables such as carrots, turnip and rutabaga. It's a great way to get kids to eat vegetables. My kids loved it and now make it in their own homes. We also don't use any milk products only butter and salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow. Good colcannon! The half-half makes it ultra creamy! I made a few adjustments for my subsequent meals. Chicken broth and 1 TB of butter instead of cream and 1/4 cup butter. I am trying to watch the hips, and it still tastes as good! I dash some nutmeg on it to, which is a great flavor with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States