Easy Indian Curried Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Wonderful recipe and so fast and easy to make! Made according to directions, would only change the amount of salt: 2 teaspoons is way too much. Would cut to 1 tsp or less. As to the spiciness - it is a spicy recipe! The chili powder can be cut down for less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamsiva
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I cut the lamb into small chunks to increase flavor and cook faster. I mixed the lamb with spices and ginger, garlic, basil, dill pastes and refrigerated it for an hour. I made this with two onions and spinach to have the lamb be subtle, and the dish not overly meaty. Came out delicious! Lamb curry is one of my favorite dishes to order in Indian restaurants and now I can make it myself! It was one of the best dishes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Doubled the spices and added potato. Reduced the salt and cayenne pepper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The spices on this one is pretty right on. Easy to make and very tasty! I used beef instead and it is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe! The lamb was VERY tender and the spices were a perfect blend. I used Aleppo chili pepper (actually I had my wife add the chili pepper--according to her I make everything too HOT--she used two large pinches and the heat was spot on.) I added chopped cabbage leaves from the garden (but would use kale, spinach, or some such green). I did add about 1/4-1/2 cup of water after adding the leaves and then let it all simmer for about an hour. The last 5-10 minutes the lid was off to allow it to thicken slightly. This would be great served over rice, but because we're both doing the Whole30, no rice for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Sadly I didn't enjoy it, the spices were overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I give this recipe only 4 stars because it is EXTREMELY spicy. I cut the Cayenne pepper back to 1.5 tsp. and added some plain yogurt at the end and it was still VERY spicy. I realize heat is a personal preference, but this just seemed a bit much. It was also quite thick - I ended up adding water to thin out the sauce so I could simmer without scorching it. Aside from that this was super! My husband declared it "really, REALLY yummy." When we make it again, we will probably cut the cayenne back to 1 tsp. We found that roasted vegetables (carrots, broccoli, onions and potatoes seasoned with olive oil, salt, pepper, cumin and just a touch of cayenne) went with this very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finvola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very good and simple lamb curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I enjoyed flavor of spices in this curry. I never cooked using garam masala seasoning, and this was a great dish. Ever since I started preparing this recipe, I have been cooking it more often. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very easy to make and not too time consuming, which is nice. The flavour was pretty nice. I added some potato chunks and it worked well - just a couple of potatoes cut up into small cubes. Ate it with basmati rice and naan bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States