Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
very good. I didn't have tandoori masala, but thanks to another reviewer I mixed 1/2t garlic powder, 1/8t ginger, lime zest,a dash of curry, 1/2t chili powder & 1/8t garam masala together as a tandoori masala substitution. Per other reviewers I cooked chicken on stove top ahead of time, added some asparagus broccoli, lighten it by using evaporated milk and 1/4 c butter. Accidently bought tomato paste instead of sauce. Definitely thickened up quicker. Will try sauce next time as a comparison. Wasn't spicy enough for my taste, but for my family of 5 it was perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Bredben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family *loves* this recipe as a special (yes, very high-fat) meal. I can't find tandoori masala. I just mix some curry powder and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I really don't see how this is getting 5 stars. I had to cut the cream in half and I'm glad I stopped pouring when I did and stirred and tasted it. I should have cut it a little more. It's kind of bland overall. Had to add more spice. I probably wouldn't make this version again. Disappointed, because this was the easiest recipe I found. :/ Edit to add that the sauce is also pretty thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Instead of the garam masala and the cayenne pepper for the sauce, I just used a Indian Marsala mix that I bought in the supermarket and the result was great! For the chicken, I used just salt and a little bit of red pepper (no tandori masala). The changes were due to availability of what I had, but the results were great anyway! Definitely, going to make it again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Nice recipe... Thanks for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made it exactly as the recipe says, with the exact ingredients, and it came out great! A sure way to make loved ones happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Love this dish! Have made several times. Prefer to use boneless skinless chicken thighs and broil them instead of baking, it gives that more traditional tandoori look and taste. My family really likes the flavor from the Tandoori Masala so after getting the chicken in the sauce, I taste and add a bit more to the sauce. This makes a lot of sauce, have even had leftover sauce before. Stuck it in the freezer and just made more chicken to add to the sauce on another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe is delicious. We are Somersizing, and this dish is perfect! I don't reduce the fat or calories at all. However, I think this makes WAY too much sauce. The second time I made it, I used about 4-5 pounds of chicken and there's still more than enough sauce. I couldn't find tandoori masala, so I sprinkled the chicken with a little bit of the garam masala, onion powder, and powdered ginger. Fabulous and so fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Awesome! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpaquette
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Awesome recepie. Followed exactly and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpaquette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States