Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as written (minus the onions, personal dislike) as a birthday meal for my husband. It was a huge success! Served it with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan. Yummy! The only critique I would give is that I had way more sauce than necessary for the amount of chicken. I could have easily added half or more again of chicken. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very yummy (reduced fat version of course)! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I make this but use only apx. 4 pats of butter and use one small container of plain yogurt and 1/4 cup of heavy cream and also with the gram marsala add 1 teaspoon Indian curry. I mix all the ingredients but the cream in a bowl and coat the chicken (I like my chicken on the bone)and place in a baking dish or a clay pot and pour sauce over chicken and bake I serve it with honey drizzled over top to take away the bitterness and bake at 325 unttil chicken is done and tender. I also used chopped tomatoes along with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very easy recipe to cook. I too did the one pan version but increased the recipe to serve 12 as I was having company. It was now asking for 4 tsp of salt; I used 3 but it was still WAY too salty so I ended up having to add some sugar, more cream and tomato paste to stretch the sauce and dilute the salt. In the end it was very tasty. I served it over jasmine rice with cauliflower and broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I didn't have heavy cream, garam masala, or tandoori masala. As I usually do when I'm cooking, I substitute stuff and have fun with it. So instead of the gm and tm, I used ground cinnamon, black pepper, ground tumeric, and ground ginger. Before adding the onions and garlic to the butter, I put the spices in the butter until it got all brown and sizzly. Then I added the onions and garlic. When that got all caramelized and fragrant, I added a can of tomato sauce and salt to taste. Instead of heavy cream, I stirred in a couple of tablespoons of sour cream I had left in the fridge, and drizzled in milk while stirring until it looked like butter chicken sauce. For the chicken, I just baked it in the oven for 40 minutes at 375F, chopped it in cubes and threw it in the sauce. Simmered it while I cooked the basmati rice. It was AMAZING!! Today I made the recipe closer to what this one calls for (though I only used 1 cup of table cream, and half a cup of butter). It's still delicious, but not as fragrant. I think the difference is I forgot to add the spices to the butter until it got all brown and sizzly! I will definitely keep working to perfect this. So easy and fun to make. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it. Combination of original and other reviewers created a simple, low-fat, one-pot version: caramelized the onions with the garlic and some butter; added everything else except the chicken and simmered gently for 10 minutes; added the chicken, a green pepper, and a few carrots and simmered for 25 minutes. Swapped the tandoori masala for curry powder, and swapped the cream for a can of coconut milk and a can of evaporated milk. Cut the butter to 1/3 C total and reduced the salt to 1 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This turned out really well, especially for being a "simplified" recipe! I think I will replace my more complicated recipe with this one. I did add a little ginger paste with the garlic, and instead of baking the chicken separately, I seasoned it with the Tandoori seasoning, then sauteed it with the spices before adding the tomatoes and cream. Then I simmered it all for about 20 minutes, and added some chopped cilantro at the end. If I'd had red onions on hand, I would have used those rather than a standard yellow one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Based on other reviews I opted for the lower cal version and very yummy it is too. For our taste 1 teaspoon of cayenne is too spicy. Will add just a pinch next time but thats just personal taste. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Really good but just use half the butter, still as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellefromNY
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I'm an amateur cook so I'm always on the lookout for easy recipes and this sure was one! I've made it twice so far and it's been delicious both times. My friends love it and I'm sure I will be making this many more times in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States