Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it. Combination of original and other reviewers created a simple, low-fat, one-pot version: caramelized the onions with the garlic and some butter; added everything else except the chicken and simmered gently for 10 minutes; added the chicken, a green pepper, and a few carrots and simmered for 25 minutes. Swapped the tandoori masala for curry powder, and swapped the cream for a can of coconut milk and a can of evaporated milk. Cut the butter to 1/3 C total and reduced the salt to 1 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This turned out really well, especially for being a "simplified" recipe! I think I will replace my more complicated recipe with this one. I did add a little ginger paste with the garlic, and instead of baking the chicken separately, I seasoned it with the Tandoori seasoning, then sauteed it with the spices before adding the tomatoes and cream. Then I simmered it all for about 20 minutes, and added some chopped cilantro at the end. If I'd had red onions on hand, I would have used those rather than a standard yellow one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Based on other reviews I opted for the lower cal version and very yummy it is too. For our taste 1 teaspoon of cayenne is too spicy. Will add just a pinch next time but thats just personal taste. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Really good but just use half the butter, still as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellefromNY
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I'm an amateur cook so I'm always on the lookout for easy recipes and this sure was one! I've made it twice so far and it's been delicious both times. My friends love it and I'm sure I will be making this many more times in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
It is what it says it is. EASY. It is AMAZING too! It was so full of flavor I almost felt like I was sinning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Incredibly good - one of my favourite chicken recipes ever. Made it quite a few times already and will continue doing so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
WOWeeeWOW! I did the full fat version first, THEN tried the lighter version (but with coconut milk because I was out of evaporated milk). OH MY! Not as thick but no worries! I topped it with Greek yogurt and it was the best -- my fiancé, who doesn't eat yogurt normally, was singing its praises. This recipe takes us to food paradise. I highly recommend this with Jasmine Rice. Makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. I make it often and my kids love it too! I sometimes add carrots to it while its simmering but other than that I do everything as written :) thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great recipe and easy. i made in one pan and like some others, used evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. Also used 1/4 cup of butter. After I had made it a few times I experimented with lamb instead of the chicken - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States