Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Great taste! The only thing I will change next time is the amount of butter. 1/4 cup should be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This a really delicious butter chicken recipe! I did change a few things. I marinate the chicken in a tandoori masala and yogurt mix for about an hour beforehand, and I don't add as much cream or salt. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe to the letter, and I thought it had too much cream and was a little too salty. Now I only put 2 cups of cream and half the amount of salt. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
It definitely isn't perfect butter chicken but it's probably the best I'll ever make. Good Indian food recipes are so hard to get your hands on. I am Indian so this rating includes an authenticity factor. It's very rich and the chicken came out delicious. The other popular butter chicken recipe on the site came out horrible when I made it and I think it was the difference between using heavy cream and sour cream. Recipe edit: I eliminated the butter and used 2 tbs oil to caramelize the onion and garlic, I halved the salt, lastly I drain out the chicken after I bake it. I want to try cooking the chicken in the sauce itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was easy and very yummy...think next time I will try and lighten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the "light" version. I changed some of the spices a bit (less salt, less cayenne pepper ouch) but nothing too dramatic. We liked this a lot, though next time I'll probably skewer the chicken pieces and cook them on a cookie rack on top of a cookie sheet so I can get them a bit less steamed (mine gave off a ton of liquid due to having been frozen, a problem I solve by cooking on a cookie cooling rack on a cookie sheet). Just personal preference on that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was good, but the onion and garlic were very strong. Also tasted a little like tomato soup. I would add more garam masala, and some of the tandoori masala to the sauce. Maybe its the tomato sauce I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone Poyhia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as written (minus the onions, personal dislike) as a birthday meal for my husband. It was a huge success! Served it with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan. Yummy! The only critique I would give is that I had way more sauce than necessary for the amount of chicken. I could have easily added half or more again of chicken. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very yummy (reduced fat version of course)! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I make this but use only apx. 4 pats of butter and use one small container of plain yogurt and 1/4 cup of heavy cream and also with the gram marsala add 1 teaspoon Indian curry. I mix all the ingredients but the cream in a bowl and coat the chicken (I like my chicken on the bone)and place in a baking dish or a clay pot and pour sauce over chicken and bake I serve it with honey drizzled over top to take away the bitterness and bake at 325 unttil chicken is done and tender. I also used chopped tomatoes along with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very easy recipe to cook. I too did the one pan version but increased the recipe to serve 12 as I was having company. It was now asking for 4 tsp of salt; I used 3 but it was still WAY too salty so I ended up having to add some sugar, more cream and tomato paste to stretch the sauce and dilute the salt. In the end it was very tasty. I served it over jasmine rice with cauliflower and broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States