Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Pretty tasty and simple enough to make, but it was too much heavy cream for me and I could probably cut back on the butter some as well. The only complaint is that it dirtied a lot of pans/pots so perhaps I'll caramelize onions in the pot before simmering the sauce and maybe I'll cook the chicken in the sauce as well instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made the sauce as directed, with allllll of the cream and alllll of the butter, and it was absolutely divine! I followed the revision in the reviews and cooked the chicken in the sauce instead of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was phenomenal! I followed the recipe as written, the only small change I made was I sprinkled a tiny bit of curry into the onions when sautéing them and omitted the salt. I was nervous at first how much the sauce smelled a lot like tomato soup but after it simmered the spices took over! I served it with basmati & warm naan. I can hardly wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!! It was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
DELICIOUS! I tried this recipe and it turned out great on the very first attempt. I also make some slight calorie-conserving changes. I only used 1/4 cup of butter in my recipe, and I also only put 1 cup of cream and substituted skim milk for the other 2 cups. I also used garlic salt to taste, rather than use table salt. This is a delicious and easy recipe that I plan on sharing with many others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica DeJager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I used the "light" version (1/4 c. butter, 1 can evaporated milk, 1 can light coconut milk) and made minor alterations. Doubled the onion, added all spices to onion/garlic after 10 minutes and sauteed everything for 5 more. Then added all liquids and pureed everything together in a blender until smooth. Then put the sauce back on the stove to simmer. I started the chicken in another pan and when about half cooked, added it to the sauce to simmer on low until done. Served with Basmati rice. My family RAVED about dinner! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
A very nice recipe! Among other people on here, I ended up substituting the heavy cream with evaporated milk. Also subbed out the tandoori masala for 1 tbl spoon of curry powder. This dish is very flavorful and goes well with basmati rice. I'd you want a little more spice then put a bit more cayenne pepper in it. I really enjoyed this recipe. Totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smyth K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I've made butter chicken numerous times for my family in the past - we love the complexity of flavors that can be achieved even in a mild curry. Wanting a quicker version of the awesomely delicious restaurant style butter chicken I usually make, I decided to try this recipe out. Not a fan. This curry is bland, very heavy and is much too creamy, and is definitely lacking any depth of flavor. I doubled the amount of garam masala because all I could taste was butter and cream, and even then there's just so much missing from the curry. Sorry, I really wanted to love this, but I'm going to be sticking to my usual recipe that includes ginger paste, tomato paste/puree, and fenugreek leaves. All in all, this recipe is for someone who wants something easy, extremely mild and extremely (overly) creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great recipe! I've been using it for over a year now and our family just loves it. Because of gluten/dairy allergies/intolerance, I have tweaked the recipe to suite my dietary needs. I use 1/2 the butter (sometimes you just gotta have a little dairy) and I use coconut milk instead of heavy cream. It turned out even better! The family had no idea that I switched it out and just thought I made an exceptionally good batch! I also use extra Tandoori because I just love the flavour! Thanks for posting this! I'm about to make it again tonight! Off I go ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Thank you for shating this recipe. It was very easy to do and was really delicious. I made the leaner version using 1/4 cup of butter and a can of evaporated skim milk. I also used a home-made biryani spice mix in lieu of garam masala (which seems to vary depending on brands, so really I would just use your favourite curry spice mix). I made it as the directions dictated, but next time I will cook the chicken in the sauce like other cooks to compare the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States