Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I originally submitted this recipe. I've been experimenting and have found a healthier low fat version that's just as delicious: 1/4 butter (instead of 1 cup) and 1 can of evaporated skim milk (instead of cream). Turns out lighter but just as delicious. I've also used white fish, scallops and prawns in place of the chicken sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipes was delicious! I made a few changes, mostly to keep the number of pans down. I carmelized the onions in a large pan, then I added the rest of the butter, tomato sauce, cream, and spices and simmered (on EXTREMELY low heat) for about 10 minutes. Then I added the ckicken bits right into the sauce mixture (without tandoori masala) and let it simmer on low for about 25 more minutes until the chicken was done, being careful not to boil the cream. The chicken was tender and the sauce was delicious. I served it over basmati rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. My husband loved it! One of the best Indian recipes I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
687 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Fabulous! The only change we made was to substitute the tandoori marsala with 1 Tbsp. curry powder. We loved it and will serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
this was amazing and super easy! I also recommend skipping out on the salt, and experimenting with the degree of cayenne pepper based on your spiciness preference. Another good idea is to add in vegetables! (red/green pepper's, carrots, asparagus etc.) it tastes GREAT and it adds a bit of health to the meal! try adding them in about... 10 or 15 minutes b4 the sauce is done, depending how crunchy or soft you want the veggy's! :) hope that helps! good luck! this is an AMAZING dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I used the lightened version (1/4 cup butter; evaporated milk), and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was SO good!! And easy! I cut down on the dishes and made this all in my cast iron dutch oven. I caramelized the onions and garlic in the butter, once they were done I removed them to a bowl and deglazed the pan with a little chicken broth. Made the sauce as directed and once it was hot, I added the chicken. I didn't have any tandoori masala so I marinated the chicken pieces in a mixture of yogurt, lemon juice, garam masala, cayenne and curry powder for a couple of hours. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This turned out fabulous. Made changes as suggested by others: made it all in one pan, didn't have tandoori marsala so used 1 TBS of curry instead, used 1 can of coconut milk instead of the heavy cream, used less butter and omitted the salt. Next time, I'll add more onions. Served with Naan bread and rice. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
this is a great recipe however with 82 grms of fat, it is a walking heart attack waiting to happen. i followed the lower fat recipe rated below with only 1/4 cup of butter and carnation evaporated milk, with the addition of 1 tbsp. of brown sugar with excellent results! I added onions and a few chopped fresh plum tomatoes also. This dish tastes amazing the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeyBeckyJ
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Excellent! I chose this recipe over others for butter chicken because of the shortened ingredient list. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and cooked everything in one pan (instead of baking the chicken). I found 3 cups of cream too much and only used 1. I also cut the pepper in half for a milder dish. Tasted just like India Kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wow! This is the closest I have ever gotten to the Makhani chicken at my favorite Indian restaurant. Thank You so much-I know I will be making this once a week. Next time I will reduce the salt a bit, but it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States