Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Sorry, can only give this a 3 star rating. Fixed as others did with the evaporated milk and in one pot but had to add almost 3x the spice to get it to taste anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Love love love this! I never thought it were this easy to make butter chicken! I just don't buy tandoori masalam because I don't use it for anything else so I marinate the chicken with curry powder. And like everyone else.... Cut down the butter I never ever taste the difference and use evaporated milk by carnation and then adjust with heavy cream! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Definitely a keeper! Easy and delicious. Didn't have the garam masala, used curry powder instead and it was tasty. Didn't have to thicken the sauce as it's thick enough for my taste. Added some tofu in there as well for leaner protein. Will try to substitute the half and half next time I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
First Indian recipe that passed husband and kid under 10 approval! YAY! I didn't find garam masala in my local store here in Germany so I used the allrecipes recipe for making my own. I also substituted one can of coconut milk for some of the cream. I loved it, my husband wants to try it with the cream. I did put in a bit more cayenne and garam masala for fear that it wouldn't have enough flavor. I paired it with an Indian Rice pilaf recipe here too. I'd say this feeds 6 if feeding my typical portion size, feeds 4 if serving restaurant portions or "seconds." Kids asked for leftovers in their lunches and there was enough - but my kids aren't big eaters by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Use less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious. Made changes only because of missing ingredients or laziness: baked the chicken breasts first, in a slowish oven, and then diced--no added oil. Substituted curry paste for tandoori masala because we were out. And we usually have jasmine rice, but we were out, so I just used some regular noodles. Substituted half and half for heavy cream because I forgot to thaw the heavy cream. Still, very tasty, and smelled wonderful. I'd like to try this again with reduced-fat ingredients and less butter, just to see if it's palatable. Great recipe! Hubby is just impressed that I made something "ethnic" for once. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Fantastic! A little spicy for my little girl but my son loved it. I'd recommend using half the cayenne the first time you cook it and using the lighter fat version. I roasted some zucchini in a separate sheet pan while the chicken cooked and it was delicious and helped to tone down the heat of the chicken. I rolled it in the same spices and oil. Cauliflower would be great too but it was $$ at the store that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
fantastic! made this the other night, followed the original recipe and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
OH MY GOSH!! Not only was this a very easy recipe, and pretty much with ingredients you already have on hand, it was super yummy! My boys and hubby went crazy for it and I had to make it a couple nights in a row. It is definitely a regular in our rotation now! I only had (and couldn't find) tandoori masala, and that worked quite well. My only suggestion: double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. It is SO simple and turns out much tastier than you would imagine with such a simple list of ingredients. The only modifications I make are the ones suggested in the reviews by the author just to make it a little healthier-- I agree that it turns out just as good with the evaporated milk and reduced amount of butter. Serving it over basmati rice topped with some fresh cilantro is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States