Easy Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was good spice wise, but I did a few things differently to reduce cals and save time. I didn't use any butter, but rather sauteed the onions, garlic garam marsala and tandoori masala together to obtain more flavor. I used 1 can of lite coconut milk and 1 cup of cream to reduce fat. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used about 1.5 cans of tomato paste. I also added 3 potatoes chopped up. I removed the baking step and added the chicken to the coconut milk, cream and spices once they had started to simmer. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes before enjoying with rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe is a quick and easy way to make a wonderful, authentic butter chicken that my kids (even the picky ones) will love. For those of you who are little more health conscience the recipe can substitute the cream for non fat yogurt and it still tastes great ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, and followed the directions with the exception of using a half stick of butter and fat free evaporated milk. The family devoured it with no leftovers. This is very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
To cut down on calories I substituted the heavy cream for 1 (15oz) can of coconut milk and 1 cup of low-fat yogurt. I also didn't use as much butter, only 1/2 cup. My friend, who is from India, said that it was the most authentic tasting butter chicken he has ever had in the US.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a success! So tasty! All my friends are loving it! and my BF might marry me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! I added a little more garam masala, cayenne, and ginger when doubling the recipe. Next time I'm going to try the one-pot method another reviewer suggested. Everyone loved it, even the two-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I pureed the onions for a smoother sauce. I have made it several times and it has been a big hit - especially with my Indian friends! Big downside though - the curry smell lingers big time, even with the windows open, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonythegut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have now made this dish 2 times. For work and home both loved the dish. I happen to work/live in one of the largest Indian communities in the United States. The people I prepared this dish for some are Sikh and they loved it. However, they dont use the butter and whipping cream. Too fattening, they use plain yogurt. Having said this, the dish as is wonderful!!! For a simple dish you spend little time in kitchen, great dish, and plenty of time to enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My family of 6 loved this, but I did make a few changes knowing my kids palates. First I cut the butter to 3/4 C. added only 1 C. cream and 1 1/4 c. half and half. Also, cut the tandoori masala down to 2 tsp. and then used 1 tsp. of curry powder. There was plenty of sauce for everyone to drown their rice and veggies in. And even enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was delicious on both chicken breast cubes and on soy "chicken" pieces. I used only one pan for the sauce, cooking the onions and garlic and then removing them and making the sauce. I used the lower fat method described by the original submitter in her or his post, with the exception of adding about 3/4 cup of heavy cream in addition to the evaporated milk. I used about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, and that was just right for us. Served with basmati rice, mini naan, and steamed green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States