Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
It was very easy and tasty. I ate the whole thing myself!!!! Too garlicky for the kids though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This hummus is better than store-bought and not very hard to prepare. I will use only 1 jalepeno next time, it was a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
Now I did add 1/3 cup of tahini paste and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I also put a little more cumin in, but I'm not sure how much. I was in a hurry, guests were arriving. So I added all the ingrediants plus my own and blended in the blender. Froze it for 10 minutes to chill and served. Everybody loved it, but now I'll have to try to follow the directions more closely or try to duplicate what I did again. Thanks for the guidance on what to do though. I love hummus at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Easy to prepare and quick. Added tahini & topped with sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Very good, very easy and...not unhealthy. The only change I made was using pickled jalapenos from the jar since I didn't have fresh on hand. My husband really liked this and he doesn't generally like hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Wonderful. I think I added too much garlic, but I love it. Tasty, and low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. Best of all...it is soooooo quick! I added a little less garlic, 2 sundried tomatoes (originally packed in oil), and a little more salt. I also used pickled jalapenos because didn't have and fresh ones. The sundried tomatoes gave it a wonderful flavor and a really pretty reddish color. I served it with pita chips yesterday at my Superbowl party for those of us who want a healthier alternative to chips and dip. This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again and again. It's so much cheaper and better than store bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
The recipe is easily scalable to much larger amounts. One thing I noticed is that in larger amounts, it started to get a bit too thick for the food processor to handle. My solution was to add a bit of crushed ice and water. It came out creamy and really good. Incidentally, I used dried garbanzos soaked overnight and boiled 3-4 hours instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This hummous was excellent, and received rave reviews from my guests. I didn't miss the tahini, and loved the addition of fresh jalepeno, it was just spicy enough. Next time I will double the amount of the garbanzo bean liquid to 2 Tbsp. for a more smooth texture. But there will certainly be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This is a tasty recipe that even my picky 12 year old likes and asks for! For a different twist, I have added a couple of drops of sesame oil. Give it a try! It doesn't last long at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States