Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I've never made hummus before, but I've eaten it plenty of times. This was ok. I think it really needs tahini and/or oil. Also, I'm a garlic lover and 3 cloves was just too much for 1 can of beans. Maybe my cloves were really big? Not sure, but it's a rare things for something to be too garlicky for me. I didn't have a jalapeño so based on another reviewer I used cayenne and that worked well. I ended up adding some olive oil which helped but it still wasn't great. I will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Very tasty! Great with veggies or pitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great easy base-hummus recipe. To mellow the garlic, microwave the cloves for 10 seconds before mincing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
since I find nothing 'unhealthy' about extra virgin olive oil I add some to basically the same recipe. the oil gives it more depth and brings out flavors better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
needed a little oil added to make it smoother. I did not put in the hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is pretty good, but next time I make it I will use only one clove of garlic, as right now I feel like I could light my breath on fire quite easily, lol! I added some sun-dried tomatoes to mine as per someone's suggestion and it was delicious! You really don't miss the oil or tahini, and the cumin gives it just the right flavor. This is definitely good enough for company. In fact, I'm taking it to my friend's house on Friday night with some dippers and a nice bottle of wine. Mmmm...! So simple and elegant and healthy! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I give it 4 stars only because I didn't deviate a little bit. I didn't use jalepenos, used 1 tsp cumin (only becuase I barely like cumin), used juice from half a lemom. Love this recipe. I don't like tahini. This is exactly how I want hummus to taste. It have this in the fridge all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
For those who have never made hummus before, you should be aware that this is not a traditional hummus recipe because it does not contain tahini (sesame seed butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
spicy! but I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Fixed it exactly as recipe stated and loved it. However, next time I will cut back on the garlic. We are garlic lovers. I always double, even triple garlic in a recipe so I ignored comments about it being too much garlic. WOW, it was too much garlic even for us. I am looking forward to tweaking and trying some of the variations suggested by others. So glad to finally find a hummus recipe without tahini which brings the fat calories way down!! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States