Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Next time, I'll use a little less jalapeno because it was a bit spicy. But it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made your recipe as written, and had these problems. First, I used a blender not a food processor, so it took longer than 5 minutes to get the desired smoothness. It also took more water. I used my teapot water rather than what was in the can because I didn't want the extra salt. If I only used a tablespoon of liquid I would have burnt out my blender motor. It ended up being more like a half cup of water to get it loose enough to blend. I would rather not be told whether or not oil is healthy for me, should be personal choice, so I added olive oil to mine. It made a looser paste than probably intended, but that's OK. What I appreciated about this recipe is not having to buy a special ingredient I wouldn't otherwise use (tahini), and I don't like the taste of sesame anyway. Next time I would only use two cloves - three raw cloves is overpowering even for a garlic lover. I think I'll play with the seasonings, too. Otherwise I think it's a solid base. I eat my dips with a spoon - saves on carbs for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
As is, this recipe was WAY too garlicky for me, and that's saying a lot. Usually I like a strong garlic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I love hummus and I have to go on a low-fat low-salt diet so I was very excited about this recipe. But it just didn't do it for me. It didn't have the taste or texture that I usually attribute to hummus. I'd rather use a little tahini and get the more robust flavor. I'm glad I tried it though since I appear to be in the minority.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
very easy, I did add some olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
very good and easy as it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was so simple and delicious! My husband likes to make it with different flavors and really wowed 'em at the last family get together by serving one that was hot, one that was mellow and one that was sweet. Definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockbridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Yummy recipe very garlicky...mmmmm. However, Do NOT omit the olive oil. It doesn't make it healthier, just makes it lower in fat, - but olive oil is healthy fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by applepumpkinorange
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This turned out so good. I had never made or even tried hummus, it has a great taste. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was an amazing starter recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe, but cut back on garlic, added two TBS of olive oil and added 1/8 tsp of chili powder. DELISH!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States