Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This hummus is excellent! A great basic recipe to play around with. I added more garlic and some chili oil...so good! And so easy really, just a matter of adding liquid until it reaches your preferred consistency. I eyeballed it, and left the jalapenos out because I didn't have any on hand. I can't wait to try making lemon and dill or roasted red pepper! The low fat aspect and controlled sodium makes it silly for me to buy this in the store. A little olive oil could really "richen" it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I think this is an amazing base recipe. I loved the bite the jalapeno gave the hummus, and I appreciated how garlic-y it tasted. If you're not a garlic LOVER, you should probably only use 2 cloves. I added about 7 green olives to my hummus and some olive oil (instead of extra bean juice). Without any changes at all, I think this hummus would still be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a great receipe!! I made this a while back for a summer pool party and was a big hit! Thank you! I followed the receipe exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I used this recipe to save a different hummus recipe that I wasn't fond of. Because of that, I had more cumin than this recipe called for and some olive oil, but the EVOO won't affect the taste. There was too much lemon juice, imo. I did not use jalapenos since I don't like spice, but other than that it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I just made this for the first time and found it a little bland. I did add some extra reserve liquid and about a T of olive oil to make it fluffier. To punch it up a bit I chopped some roasted red peppers to garnish the top. Super easy and I will probably make it again but I was not blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this hummus when I found that my tahani had gone bad. It was good - added olive oil for a smoother consistency and some of the reserved liquid. Used roasted red pepper, cumin and cayenne pepper for a kick. Also approx 2 cloves of garlic and a bit of salt with the juice of one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Like another reviewer, I love garlic, but this was way too much. I will definitely make it again but go with 2 cloves so the garlic is there but more muted. I also had to add more bean liquid and olive oil to make it a smooth consistency. I do NOT like heat, so I left out the jalapenos. Definitely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Ooooh! Spicy! My nose is running. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
i made this exactly as written. then added some olive oil as reviewers suggested. the olive oil really made a difference. was great w/ baby carrots, cukes, and green peppers. very refreshing on a hot day. thanks for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Really amazing!! It makes a fairly large portion so it was great for snacking for a couple of days. I added a little extra garlic to punch up the taste a little. Don't waste your money on store bought- its so much less expensive and so easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States