Easy Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
very easy and just a nice non-complicated fast meal... I added several varieties of spices... cajun spice in a jar was added and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good for New Year's Day - Used Johnsonville turkey sausage, adjusted everything for 6 servings, used 2 cans peas; 1 can drained diced tomatoes; a dash cajun seasoning instead of cayenne; cooked onion and garlic with 2 slices bacon, then disgarded bacon since we're trying to eat healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the first year that I am actually enjoying the black eye pea part of New Year. This dish is amazing!! Now if I can just keep my husband out of the pot until the cornbread is done...lol I did make my own stock with chicken base so the flavor is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was the best Hoppin' John I've ever made. The only change I made (which didn't affect the taste at all) was: I ALWAYS cook regular long-grain rice in a microwave cooker especially made just for rice. It makes dependable fluffy rice every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My recipe is just about the same except I use the cajun trinity and I use pre-cooked rice. This is so much better then red beans and rice. Delicious any time of the year. Goes great with cronbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My Husband and I had this for New Years Day for good luck. It was just delicious and great. We decided we would definitley make this our New Years Day Tradition. It was so Easy. We used jalepeno and ham black eyed pea cans instead of regular ones. And instead of sausage we used Spiral Sliced Ham cut up. Hope others like as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Late on New Year's Day, we decided we needed a dish with black eyed peas and tomatoes; it was a little late to fix anything without the word "easy" in it, so I gave this one a try. I used crushed pepper flakes instead of the cayenne and added a can of rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies to spice it up a bit. I was skeptical because it was so easy, but it was delicious. Next time I will add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added bacon when cooking the onions, some rotel diced tomatoes, fresh garlic, and hot sauce and this was very tasty and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was easy (as advertised), quick to make, and tasted very good. I decreased the servings on this recipe, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Do not add salt until you taste this as the smoked sausage adds some salt to the mix. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. The only thing I did differently is to use dried black eyed peas that I cooked in the slow cooker all day. When I got home from work I just tossed the rest of the stuff together for a quick dinner. Oh, and I added some garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States