Easy Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added bacon when cooking the onions, some rotel diced tomatoes, fresh garlic, and hot sauce and this was very tasty and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Late on New Year's Day, we decided we needed a dish with black eyed peas and tomatoes; it was a little late to fix anything without the word "easy" in it, so I gave this one a try. I used crushed pepper flakes instead of the cayenne and added a can of rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies to spice it up a bit. I was skeptical because it was so easy, but it was delicious. Next time I will add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My Husband and I had this for New Years Day for good luck. It was just delicious and great. We decided we would definitley make this our New Years Day Tradition. It was so Easy. We used jalepeno and ham black eyed pea cans instead of regular ones. And instead of sausage we used Spiral Sliced Ham cut up. Hope others like as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Hubs and I really enjoyed this & easy is right. I did add some chopped celery and red pepper with the onion, and some garlic powder, onion powder and cajun seasoning. Very simple but tasty dish. I also used turkey smoked sausage which I don't think took away from flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was easy (as advertised), quick to make, and tasted very good. I decreased the servings on this recipe, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Do not add salt until you taste this as the smoked sausage adds some salt to the mix. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. The only thing I did differently is to use dried black eyed peas that I cooked in the slow cooker all day. When I got home from work I just tossed the rest of the stuff together for a quick dinner. Oh, and I added some garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a hit for New Year's lunch! I made jasmine rice instead of instant. I just reduced the amount of liquid that I used and then put the cooked rice in the pan with everything and let it cook down. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugo, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very quick and inexpensive dish to make, but really did not have much flaovr. I will definitely make it again, but will try to tweak it with some bacon, hot sauce and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good for New Year's Day - Used Johnsonville turkey sausage, adjusted everything for 6 servings, used 2 cans peas; 1 can drained diced tomatoes; a dash cajun seasoning instead of cayenne; cooked onion and garlic with 2 slices bacon, then disgarded bacon since we're trying to eat healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
very easy and just a nice non-complicated fast meal... I added several varieties of spices... cajun spice in a jar was added and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States