Easy Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. The only thing I did differently is to use dried black eyed peas that I cooked in the slow cooker all day. When I got home from work I just tossed the rest of the stuff together for a quick dinner. Oh, and I added some garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Hubs and I really enjoyed this & easy is right. I did add some chopped celery and red pepper with the onion, and some garlic powder, onion powder and cajun seasoning. Very simple but tasty dish. I also used turkey smoked sausage which I don't think took away from flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very quick and inexpensive dish to make, but really did not have much flaovr. I will definitely make it again, but will try to tweak it with some bacon, hot sauce and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I gave this a star for being inexpensive to make, one star for easy, and one star for quick, but it seemed a bit flavorless without some added seasoning. Which my husband used sazon seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was easy (as advertised), quick to make, and tasted very good. I decreased the servings on this recipe, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Do not add salt until you taste this as the smoked sausage adds some salt to the mix. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added bacon when cooking the onions, some rotel diced tomatoes, fresh garlic, and hot sauce and this was very tasty and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a hit for New Year's lunch! I made jasmine rice instead of instant. I just reduced the amount of liquid that I used and then put the cooked rice in the pan with everything and let it cook down. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugo, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Nothing to write home about. Pretty blah in flavor. You should DEFINITELY adjust the cayenne unless your family LOVES hot n' spicy food. I'd cut it in half (at least) for most people, my family included - my older kids could barely eat it and they're used to spicy food. The youngest couldn't eat it at all. I wish I'd chosen a different recipe for my first taste of blackeye peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Late on New Year's Day, we decided we needed a dish with black eyed peas and tomatoes; it was a little late to fix anything without the word "easy" in it, so I gave this one a try. I used crushed pepper flakes instead of the cayenne and added a can of rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies to spice it up a bit. I was skeptical because it was so easy, but it was delicious. Next time I will add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My Husband and I had this for New Years Day for good luck. It was just delicious and great. We decided we would definitley make this our New Years Day Tradition. It was so Easy. We used jalepeno and ham black eyed pea cans instead of regular ones. And instead of sausage we used Spiral Sliced Ham cut up. Hope others like as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States