Easy Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was great! I made a half recipe using left over hickory smoked ham. I cooked basmati rice, so added 1 cup of chicken bouillon. I used only 1/8 tsp cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was delicious! Only thing I changed was the seasoning. The little bit of cayenne would leave it bland. I did Cajun seasoning, black pepper, garlic powder and chili powder. I also did Brown minute rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My entire family loved this. We used 2 lbs sausage as all my boys were insisting 1 package would not be enough, but then they love meat overkill. One pound would be plenty! We will be making this again, its an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I make this all the time, not just for New Years Day. I also add a can of diced tomatoes with chilis and I use long grain rice. My 23 yr old grandson absolutely loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was the best Hoppin' John I've ever made. The only change I made (which didn't affect the taste at all) was: I ALWAYS cook regular long-grain rice in a microwave cooker especially made just for rice. It makes dependable fluffy rice every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My recipe is just about the same except I use the cajun trinity and I use pre-cooked rice. This is so much better then red beans and rice. Delicious any time of the year. Goes great with cronbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good for New Year's Day - Used Johnsonville turkey sausage, adjusted everything for 6 servings, used 2 cans peas; 1 can drained diced tomatoes; a dash cajun seasoning instead of cayenne; cooked onion and garlic with 2 slices bacon, then disgarded bacon since we're trying to eat healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the first year that I am actually enjoying the black eye pea part of New Year. This dish is amazing!! Now if I can just keep my husband out of the pot until the cornbread is done...lol I did make my own stock with chicken base so the flavor is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
very easy and just a nice non-complicated fast meal... I added several varieties of spices... cajun spice in a jar was added and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States