Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I would hate to count the sodium in this recipe. Canned beans, bouillon cube and bacon. Don't try it if you are concerned about your sodium intake. Unfortunately, foods high in salt are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
So easy & very good! Tastes like Grandma's beans she'd cook all day long. YUM! I had to more than quadruple the recipe for the party I was serving them at. I would suggest reserving the liquid from the cans of beans and then adding in what you feel necessary. Mine were a bit soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made this super easy recipe for a family dinner. Everyone loved it. I was glad as I do not make green beans often since my husband does not like them. As others stated I did not use the water in the can, but added my own. They did not taste like canned greens. i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I agree with the other reviews. The green beans tasted like I cooked them for a much longer period of time. I love the ease of this recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edyegourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a very easy and good way to dress up a can of Green Beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
very quick and easy...family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My family loved these!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe. I like to add potatoes tho which take away alot of the salt and leaves the flavor. Then you can salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
To get rid of the canned taste, one really does need to rinse the beans a couple times draining out of canned liquid and cook in chicken or vegetable broth or use Goya Ham seasoning for a real southern taste. Using broth reduces the sodium content that bullion cubes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I would have given it 10 stars if I could! Yum!!! I pretty much followed the recipe, only modifying slightly. Here's what I did. I used very meaty bacon. I used a whole sliced onion. I rinsed the beans and discarded the liquid. After adding the beans to the onions and bacon, I added about 1/4 c water and sprinkled with about 1/3- 1/2 a seasoning packet from Top Ramen. I tried it twice. We liked the beef packet better than chicken. SOOOO yummy. I don't think I'll ever make the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom soup (which I LOVE by the way) again because this is so much better. Thanks Jenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States