Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I am making this ice cream right now in a Cuisinart ice cream/yogurt maker that someone gave to me. I would not call this ice cream but ice milk since it is not the custard based ice cream and basically all you are using is milk and sugar. I have to say, I am someone who craves sweets every day and this is way too sweet ! I would suggest somehow cutting amount of the sweetened condensed milk used in this recipe so that you use less, or maybe add other flavors to cut down on the sugar. It is so very sweet, I ate maybe 1/4th cup of the ice cream when it was done and I feel physically, like I just ate a whole bowl of sugar, with milk on it, jittery and nauseated. If I make this recipe again, I will just use 1/4th cup of sweetened condensed milk instead of the whole can and maybe add fruit for a sweet taste. As far as an ice cream taste, this tastes like ice milk. Also the costs is far greater making this than if you just buy a carton of Breyers on sale. Homemade is sometimes better in some recipes, but next time I will just buy Breyers or Edys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is so simple and O so good. A great hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I only gave 4 stars because it tends to get a little icy and crumbly the longer it is in the freezer. That is the only thing holding this back from being 5 star. The first day is definitely the best. This is a good base recipe to add whatever you want. Play with extracts, too, if you want a different flavor altogether. Very easy, versatile, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I did the refrigerator/freezer method and it tastes good but is extremely rich. I wouldn't have more then a scoop at a time with maybe some fruit or a cookie or piece of cake or pie with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I opted for this easy homemade recipe because I wanted foolproof results. This recipe was so quick and easy to make. It churned for 20 minutes, then I added chopped Butterfinger bars into the mixture for the last 10 minutes. It tastes fabulous. Put it in the freezer for a couple hours to let it harden. Makes a great summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yum! SImple and delicious. My first attempt at making ice cream with my Kitchen Aid attachment. It came out greatI followed some of the suggestions from comments and used 1.5 c heavy cream. Served it with fresh blueberries and raspberries. Next time, I'll try adding coconut extract, coconut, almonds and chocolate pieces for Almond Joy ice cream....Thanks Eagle Brand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very nice. I only had half the amount of light cream called for, so I just halved the recipe. Instead of vanilla extract, I used the seeds/whatever you scrape from a vanilla bean instead. It had a lovely vanilla flavor that way. Husband was complaining it was gritty, but I think that is bc he was eating it before placing it back in the freezer--ice cream making is a process for a reason! Otherwise, he liked it. He added in M&Ms apparently bc he could. I tried it and thought it was good, but can't have much of it due to being lactose intolerant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This Vanilla Ice Cream was a huge success at our Churn-Off! in Charlotte, NC that I competed in. I won second out of 6 others. I work for my family's honey company called Cloister Honey and so I thought it'd be cool to do a "honey sundae" with this vanilla ice cream, our whipped cinnamon honey and walnuts! it was a huge success. Here are a few pictures from the event: http://cloisterhoney.myshopify.com/blogs/news/6146656-recipe-of-the-week-july-30-august-5-2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
fast, easy, and delicious! didn't have half n half or light cream, so i substituted three cups of milk (2%) and 3/4 cup of real butter (softened). blended all ingredients in the blender for about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I discovered one reason why this recipe might gets mixed reviews...I made the whipped cream version and it was amazing! Light, fluffy, froze perfectly and totally delicious. It was so good it prompted me to buy an ice cream maker. I have made it twice since, once with half and half the second time with cream. Both times it came out soft and developed lots of ice crystals when frozen. Next time I'm putting the gadgets away and sticking to the hand made version - wayyyyyy better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States