Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is delicious and really easy. No cooking. I mix up Eagle Brand and part of the milk in my blender before pouring into freezer. A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was my 1st time making this,i never made hm. made ice cream b-4,my mother allways made it, but i watched, and i was really suprised to how it came out. I made the recipe to T, someone commented that it was too eggy and had some egg reminints in the mixture, i knoticed that if your mixing it at the last, and find some egg yolk reminints, i find you can use a wisk beater, and stir real good, and it will began to be smooth, and yes if you cook it over med. heat and watch it, not to over boil, but just to the point of ready to boil, then it shouldnt get any crystals in it. After adding everything back into the pan while it was still hot, (while on the stove), i got a huge mixing bowl and poured the custard mix in it, then got a metal wisk blender and mixed it well, put that into the machines container, and set that container in the freezer for just a jiffy, i had to be somewhere fast, so i didnt have time for it to cool dwn, so by the time i got to where i was going, pluged it in, and in about an hr. it was done, YUMMY! I was really proud of myself, and really out did my self this time, i was amazed and excited about my 1st time makeing it, that i told some others about it, my husband tried mine for the 1st time , and he thought it was really terrific!!! It came out creamy, and firm, and when it was ready some, i added black berries to it, and it was a hit! I racked my mind on the Internet trying to find a basic recipe, and so glad i found you guys, i think ill just keep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PT_crusr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We love this ice cream!!! The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of sugar to sweeten it a little more!!! This is so easy and just as good as the ice cream that you have to mix stovetop! We have made this several time and will make it many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I grew up going to the county fair every summer. The big draw at the fair was the FFA's homemade ice cream. This is identical!!! It is so good, I cant believe how simple it is. You must try it, just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I really think It is a great and easy super easy recipe. I just messed up and bought whipping cream...duh instead of half and half. Hey it's like frozen cool whip BUt that's great, we are serving ontop of the wonderful homemade blackberry pie I have in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homies_cookin_mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is awesome, I used it because it had the option to not use an ice cream maker. The only thing I changed was use a little less vanilla and also 2 cups of half and half not heavy cream. Its not icy at all its nice and creamy with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
We have a large family so we double the recipe. So far we have made peppermint, and root beer. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
OK, I did what lots of us do...I changed things a bit. I used 2 C. half & half and 2 C. heavy cream and 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. vanilla paste and of course the Eagle Brand. I froze it in my Cuisinart ice-cream maker (the 2 qt. model) and it came out VERY good! No after taste and it froze beautifully. Was the vanilla flavor strong? I don't think so. IMHO if you are going to go to all the trouble of making something from scratch then don't skimp...I used really good vanilla and cream so maybe that's what this recipe is missing? Anyway, bottom line? I had really good results with this simple recipe and will add it to my forever cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
After trying this recipe, I would have to advise users to scale down the vanilla extract portion. 2 tblspns creates a stronger than desired vanilla taste. Extract flavors in ice cream are bold and should be used with care. I would use 1 to 1 1/4 tablspns for a lighter vanilla presence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
While very good, this does not freeze up quickly and will need to finish off in the freezer with stirring every 30 minutes or so to keep it from settling and getting rock hard. For that reason I rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackRabbit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roby, Texas, USA
Living In: Tuscola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States