Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not sure what went wrong but this turned out way too icey. I used 2 cups heavy cream and 2.5 cups half & half (it was too sweet). I used about 12 ounces of the can of condensed milk to avoid overly sweet taste. Added 1 tablespoon vanilla and 2 tablespoons of honey liqueur. The mixture tasted good but the texture wasn't smooth or creamy at all. I guess it pays to make the custard based version when you go homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Super easy and delicious! I doubled the recipe so it would work better in my 5 quart ice cream maker and I added 1/2 cup of cocoa, used half and half, and used fat free sweet and condensed milk. It took my maker about one hour to finally stop turning and when I opened the lid it looked like the consistency of a Wendy's frosty. My husband and I love it. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
First of all, I can't believe how incredibly easy this recipe is! I used both fat free half/half and fat free sweetened condensed milk. The consistency was great! It is definitely sweet enough without any extra added sugar. Thank you for such an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Loved the recipe. Very easy. Be sure to double the recipe if you have a 4 quart ice-cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
It's OK in a pinch, but nothing is going to come close to going through the effort of making the custard with eggs and cream. Don't be fooled by the 5* ratings that many users are giving this recipe--2.5* is reality here. I might make this again, but knowing the difference of a custard based recipe, it'll have to be a last-minute type of scenario. (used my kitchenaid ice cream maker attachment for this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Made it for a class party and it was a hit. So much easier than the custard I usually make, but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Kid friendly and over the top deeelish. My GK's, 8 and 11, look forward to whipping up a batch of this while I'm doing a batch of brownies or cookies. Great combination, BTW! Super easy, super good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is so so so easy! It's practically effortless! AND delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Woo hoo! This is delish, and so easy. This was the first recipe I used in my new icecream maker, and it worked beautifully. I added 1/2 C Cocoa to make it chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne McCombie Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Engstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States