Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was awesome and I got complements from everyone who tried it. I used the freezer method, and it was much better than ice cream that I've made using an ice cream maker. I made some cookie dough (from an eggless cookie dough truffle recipe on this site) and mixed that in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made exactly as indicated - strong condensed milk taste, which reminded me more of a frozen vanilla dessert vs. real ice cream. Much prefer a custard based ice cream using an ice cream maker. That said, in a pinch, this may be ok. My husband and in laws thought it was fine alongside the Grandma Ople pie (which is amazing if you haven't already made it), but didn't rave about it, which is what usually happens with real homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So easy and very good! Will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
so easy and very good...2nd time added oreo cookies and everyone loved it. Flavor is not as good as the old fashioned kind with eggs, but who has time for that these days? will definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
VERY easy and my guests were impressed, but the flavor wasn't quite the traditional homemade ice cream flavor I was hoping for. This would be good with some fresh fruit added before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
very good and very quick/easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness! Creamy, delicious and oh so easy. We have made home made ice cream for years and this is by far the easiest recipe ever. We won't be using any other recipe but this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Good - not Great ... but what do you expect w/ 3 ingredients ?! Doesn't get much easier than this - and the kids loved it after adding all their cookies and toppings. We used an ice cream maker - but it never seemed to get 'real' frozen - very soft serve like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe just as it is. We made no changes at all. It had wonderful flavor and was super easy. Next time we'll try adding cocoa for chocolate flavor. You cannot go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not sure what went wrong but this turned out way too icey. I used 2 cups heavy cream and 2.5 cups half & half (it was too sweet). I used about 12 ounces of the can of condensed milk to avoid overly sweet taste. Added 1 tablespoon vanilla and 2 tablespoons of honey liqueur. The mixture tasted good but the texture wasn't smooth or creamy at all. I guess it pays to make the custard based version when you go homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States