Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
While very good, this does not freeze up quickly and will need to finish off in the freezer with stirring every 30 minutes or so to keep it from settling and getting rock hard. For that reason I rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackRabbit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roby, Texas, USA
Living In: Tuscola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was pretty good. A little on the sweet side. I still think I prefer the Five Minute Ice Cream better. This one is a little like a Wendy's Frosty. I'm planning on using this to make cookie sandwiches with leftover Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Superb!!!! That says it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
this is a wonderful recipe. I was looking for an easy ice cream recipe to make for a church function and gave this one a try. Everyone loved it, including me. I've already had people asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
AWESOME recipe! My husband kept fussing at me saying that I couldn't have gotten the recipe right and I had to be missing stuff. When it came out looking like dough, he fussed more saying I didn't get the recipe right. When he took a bite of it, he greatly apologized and said how awesome it was. It was just too easy. That's the only recipe we use anymore, and it really does make enough for 12! We had another container of it going at the same time thinking that it wouldn't be enough for our party of 14, but it made just enough, and we never touched the other container of it during the party and just froze it. ***The BEST thing, is that it does NOT melt quickly! Most recipes melt the instant it leaves the container, but I was able to eat ALL of my ice cream outside on a fairly warm night, and it didn't on me! We're going to take our manual maker on our camping trip this weekend and see how it holds up to 85 degree weather. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Mine came out pretty icy like a soft serve ice cream put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was all right for a quick dessert, but not nearly as good as other (traditional) ice cream recipes I've tried. There was definitely an odd aftertaste to it and the consistency was more like frozen yogurt than ice cream, so I don't think I'd serve this to company. I might try it again in the future with other flavorings added like pureed fruit or instant coffee, but I wouldn't make it again according to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I think this recipe is super-easy to prepare and the tastiest too! It has the perfect amount of sweetness, I'd compare it to the Breyer's vanilla - it's great on its own or will be a perfect vanilla base for creating your own rocky road mix. I wouldn't change a thing and rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
this easy homemade vanilla ice cream was delicious it had a great taste it was very fun to make i can not wait to make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
The ice cream stayed soft and it had a funny after taste. Will NOT make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States