Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We love this ice cream!!! The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of sugar to sweeten it a little more!!! This is so easy and just as good as the ice cream that you have to mix stovetop! We have made this several time and will make it many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I grew up going to the county fair every summer. The big draw at the fair was the FFA's homemade ice cream. This is identical!!! It is so good, I cant believe how simple it is. You must try it, just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I really think It is a great and easy super easy recipe. I just messed up and bought whipping cream...duh instead of half and half. Hey it's like frozen cool whip BUt that's great, we are serving ontop of the wonderful homemade blackberry pie I have in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homies_cookin_mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is awesome, I used it because it had the option to not use an ice cream maker. The only thing I changed was use a little less vanilla and also 2 cups of half and half not heavy cream. Its not icy at all its nice and creamy with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
We have a large family so we double the recipe. So far we have made peppermint, and root beer. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
OK, I did what lots of us do...I changed things a bit. I used 2 C. half & half and 2 C. heavy cream and 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. vanilla paste and of course the Eagle Brand. I froze it in my Cuisinart ice-cream maker (the 2 qt. model) and it came out VERY good! No after taste and it froze beautifully. Was the vanilla flavor strong? I don't think so. IMHO if you are going to go to all the trouble of making something from scratch then don't skimp...I used really good vanilla and cream so maybe that's what this recipe is missing? Anyway, bottom line? I had really good results with this simple recipe and will add it to my forever cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
After trying this recipe, I would have to advise users to scale down the vanilla extract portion. 2 tblspns creates a stronger than desired vanilla taste. Extract flavors in ice cream are bold and should be used with care. I would use 1 to 1 1/4 tablspns for a lighter vanilla presence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
While very good, this does not freeze up quickly and will need to finish off in the freezer with stirring every 30 minutes or so to keep it from settling and getting rock hard. For that reason I rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackRabbit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roby, Texas, USA
Living In: Tuscola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was pretty good. A little on the sweet side. I still think I prefer the Five Minute Ice Cream better. This one is a little like a Wendy's Frosty. I'm planning on using this to make cookie sandwiches with leftover Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Superb!!!! That says it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States