Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is the easiest ice cream recipe I have tried. It's fast, uses only 3 ingredients and it's delicious. I really like how versatil it is. I've made coconut ice cream by blending a teaspoon of coconut flavoring and 1 cup of flaked coconut with the half and half in the blender for a few seconds, then proceeding as directed. I've also made cinnamon ice cream by adding cinnamon. I've added pineapple and macadamia nuts to the coconut as well to make a great caribbean treat! Next on my list will be mango, followed by egg nog ice cream by adding nutmeg, rum flavoring and cinnamon. This one is a true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Used 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 and 2 cups of whipping cream. Was so great! Tasted just like Breyers. I will use again and add something. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Worked perfectly in my old timey ice cream maker. So easy and simple, I thougth it was too good to be true. I have 6 kids and it was an instant hit! I can't wait to use this as the base recipe for other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It was better than average. Very easy for my kids to make. My only issue was it had a lot if crystals in it......not as creamy as i would have liked. Good flavor though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Just made the vanilla in our ice cream maker... YUMMY.. right now at soft serve status.. put in freezer like our machine's manual says... Starting the Strawberry Banana now :) Thank you for such a great and easy recipe.. oh PS followed recipe exactly first time.. this time just added fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Brooks
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've tried several different homemade ice cream recipes and this is by far the best one. I actually used only half a recipe to try it out and in my Kitchenaid stand mixer, ice cream maker attachment bowl, the mix tripled in volume. I wouldn't do the whole recipe as it wouldn't get as much air and might not be as light and creamy. I added pureed mangos as well as peaches sweetened with about 1/4 cup of splenda. I also added a tablespoon of triple sec to make sure it didn't get too hard in the freezer. It not only tastes amazing but has a smooth and creamy consistency. I am going to use this base for all sorts of different flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My family loved this! We had to double the batch to fill our freezer. We have made 2 vanilla and 1 oreo cookie. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tastes like frozen Sweetened Condensed Milk. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Not bad. Not actually good either. It would be better if it had more fat in it, and that's the honest truth. Nothing wrong with the flavor, if you want more vanilla, add more vanilla. Taste the mixture before you freeze it to make sure it tastes vanilla enough. Really if you want to use this recipe and you want it to be creamy, use 2 cups half&half and 2 cups heavy cream or whipping cream (not whipped cream, not Cool Whip!) rather than 4 of half&half, it'll improve the texture. This ice cream is best enjoyed the day it's made -- after that it gets crystallized. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Combining the simplicity of the recipe and the final taste it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States