Easy Homemade Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
okay, I just watched the video of chef john making this but I swear he just used 16oz of flour to make 4 pizzas. This calls for 4 cups or 32 oz of flour and says it makes 4 pizzas so I'm confused. I will make it tomorrow then come back and update my review after I figure out what the hey is going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Wow, this is very easy pizza dough, Ill definitely try this..thanks chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe reminds me of the artisan bread in five minutes a day recipe I found on the NY Times website. The bread recipe is made in an ice cream bucket and does not have olive oil, otherwise it is a similar recipe and my favorite bread EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This dough is pretty good but it really needs more like 3 1/2 cups flour. If you watch the video Chef John weighs the flour - 16 oz - which equates to closer to 3 1/2 cups rather than 3 cups. I made the dough the night before - let it sit until the next afternoon - I made pizza for the kids when they came home from school. They love pizza and this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was excellent! When baking it's important to weigh the flour. If you don't have a food scale, the texture of the dough will tell you if you've added too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Really good pizza dough! A little weird the first time I mad it though, I think I didn't add enough flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auddyvlc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was a little leery about leaving this out all nite. Whipped up a batch of this dough last nite & made a pizza this morning. Turned out Jawsome. the only thing I did differently was to poke holes in the dough up to an inch around the edge. Keeps the center from rising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Super easy!!! Great stuff! I used it for pizza and calzones. They came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Wonderful Recipe! I made a pizza with one recipe of this pizza dough and took it to my friend's baby's 1st birthday party; it was the first time I had ever made pizza. I brought the empty pan home after the party was over! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I think you pretty much "nailed-it " on this thin crust pizza recipe.I've subsequently tried six other thin crust recipes from this website,and this beats them all. I have two suggestions though.One is that I think the yield should be 3 pizzas,with a little left over.You have to stretch the dough so far in a 9" pan that there is only a 1/2 crust.Secondly I found by increasing the cooking time on the bottom shelf to 6 or 7 minutes really crisps the bottom up.(Without a pizza stone my oven doesnt get hot enough).Otherwise this crust is perfect. Now if I could only find a thick crust pizza recipe that was this good,but that is a whole different animal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States