Easy Homemade Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
okay, I just watched the video of chef john making this but I swear he just used 16oz of flour to make 4 pizzas. This calls for 4 cups or 32 oz of flour and says it makes 4 pizzas so I'm confused. I will make it tomorrow then come back and update my review after I figure out what the hey is going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This dough is pretty good but it really needs more like 3 1/2 cups flour. If you watch the video Chef John weighs the flour - 16 oz - which equates to closer to 3 1/2 cups rather than 3 cups. I made the dough the night before - let it sit until the next afternoon - I made pizza for the kids when they came home from school. They love pizza and this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe reminds me of the artisan bread in five minutes a day recipe I found on the NY Times website. The bread recipe is made in an ice cream bucket and does not have olive oil, otherwise it is a similar recipe and my favorite bread EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I think you pretty much "nailed-it " on this thin crust pizza recipe.I've subsequently tried six other thin crust recipes from this website,and this beats them all. I have two suggestions though.One is that I think the yield should be 3 pizzas,with a little left over.You have to stretch the dough so far in a 9" pan that there is only a 1/2 crust.Secondly I found by increasing the cooking time on the bottom shelf to 6 or 7 minutes really crisps the bottom up.(Without a pizza stone my oven doesnt get hot enough).Otherwise this crust is perfect. Now if I could only find a thick crust pizza recipe that was this good,but that is a whole different animal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mpartykitten
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I use all the same ingredients, but I make it much less complicated.I just mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, then mix.I roll it out and add a little flour as needed to roll it then bake at 400 for 20 mins.Simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was a little leery about leaving this out all nite. Whipped up a batch of this dough last nite & made a pizza this morning. Turned out Jawsome. the only thing I did differently was to poke holes in the dough up to an inch around the edge. Keeps the center from rising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is a 6 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Gimli, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was excellent! When baking it's important to weigh the flour. If you don't have a food scale, the texture of the dough will tell you if you've added too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Soft wonderful dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great pizza crust. I cut this in half and only made 1 pizza that we cooked on the grill. I only let mine rise for 3 hours as it was almost doubled from the heat in the garage. Other than outside with the dog I wasn't sure where to get a constant 85-90* temp. So from now on this will be known as the "garage pizza" at our house. I didn't have any trouble with the flour/water ratios like it seems others had. I didn't have whole wheat flour. I did use double the yeast because I forgot to scale that down with the rest. I can't possibly imagine this taking 18 hours to prepare. We wanted it today so I had to just make it do. The flavor was like a yeast roll and very good tasted like white bread only not sweet. I'll fix this again as it was perfect for our pizza on the grill experiment. This is the first time we actually got one to turn out and I think the dough is a factor in that. Thanks Chef John even if I did modify it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States