Easy Homemade Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
okay, I just watched the video of chef john making this but I swear he just used 16oz of flour to make 4 pizzas. This calls for 4 cups or 32 oz of flour and says it makes 4 pizzas so I'm confused. I will make it tomorrow then come back and update my review after I figure out what the hey is going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Wow, this is very easy pizza dough, Ill definitely try this..thanks chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe reminds me of the artisan bread in five minutes a day recipe I found on the NY Times website. The bread recipe is made in an ice cream bucket and does not have olive oil, otherwise it is a similar recipe and my favorite bread EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This dough is pretty good but it really needs more like 3 1/2 cups flour. If you watch the video Chef John weighs the flour - 16 oz - which equates to closer to 3 1/2 cups rather than 3 cups. I made the dough the night before - let it sit until the next afternoon - I made pizza for the kids when they came home from school. They love pizza and this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was excellent! When baking it's important to weigh the flour. If you don't have a food scale, the texture of the dough will tell you if you've added too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Really good pizza dough! A little weird the first time I mad it though, I think I didn't add enough flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auddyvlc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was a little leery about leaving this out all nite. Whipped up a batch of this dough last nite & made a pizza this morning. Turned out Jawsome. the only thing I did differently was to poke holes in the dough up to an inch around the edge. Keeps the center from rising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Super easy!!! Great stuff! I used it for pizza and calzones. They came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Wonderful Recipe! I made a pizza with one recipe of this pizza dough and took it to my friend's baby's 1st birthday party; it was the first time I had ever made pizza. I brought the empty pan home after the party was over! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I think you pretty much "nailed-it " on this thin crust pizza recipe.I've subsequently tried six other thin crust recipes from this website,and this beats them all. I have two suggestions though.One is that I think the yield should be 3 pizzas,with a little left over.You have to stretch the dough so far in a 9" pan that there is only a 1/2 crust.Secondly I found by increasing the cooking time on the bottom shelf to 6 or 7 minutes really crisps the bottom up.(Without a pizza stone my oven doesnt get hot enough).Otherwise this crust is perfect. Now if I could only find a thick crust pizza recipe that was this good,but that is a whole different animal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States